We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
44
44
17
0
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
44
17
0
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews road noise the kitchen free wifi away from the road heated towel rail lounge room one night one bedroom unit good size arthur's pass town motel host sh6 accommodation apartment tv
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Stayed there December 2012. This was the worst place I stayed in new Zealand. They advertise spa and pool facilities. But that is a myth. There is a sign up saying pool closed for season. I doubt if this pool has been open for years. The picture of the pool on their website must be 10 years old. There are weeds growing in the pool. It is a cess pit not a pool. The rooms are comfortable and spacious enough. But the complex has an insect laden marsh section right up against the rear of the building. The busy main road is almost on top of the front of the buildings so much so that passing trucks (which pass throughout the night) sound like they are coming through the walls.

It is well outside the town and has little to offer really.

I hate false advertising, their promotional stuff is just that.

Other than that I enjoyed New Zealand and I liked Greymouth.

Room Tip: Stay as far away from this place as you can.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tiernan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We were staying in Greymouth for one night on our way to Christchurch. Our first impression of the Apostles View was disappointment due to its distance outside of town. However, this did not last long as the owner was so wonderful on our arrival. Our one bedroom apartment was huge. We had a large bedroom with a separate sitting come dinning room linked by a fully equipped kitchen which included a full cooker. There was a car port attached to our accommodation which allowed us to empty the car in the dry. Having had a full week of rain during our 'summer holiday' we were badly in need of laundry facilities. Not only were the washing machine and dryer free the owner also provided us with washing powder for no charge. If you do not mind being 7km outside of Greymouth I'd highly recommend the Apostles View Motel for its value, room size and friendly service.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We stayed one night, in room 2, and were delighted with its facilities - a full cooker as well as a microwave, a living and dining area separate from the kitchenette; a full bath; and an outside sitting area away from the road. And everything very clean. The external of the complex is somewhat dated - a straightforward small roadside motel, nowhere in particular by SH6 outside Greymouth, that a family are running and upgrading: a new spa bath was being installed in unit 1 as we left. So we didn't mind that the well-advertised pool isn't now on offer and isn't likely to be for the indefinite future - with small motels it's the rooms that are important. Our continental breakfast was also ample with both fresh and tinned fruit. Wifi is available but we didn't get a strong signal; and noise from the road was louder than in some places we've stayed but didn't prevent us having an undisturbed and comfortable night. Provided you're only wanting the normal services of a small motel, Apostles View has, we think, much to offer.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian_Denton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

My husband and I only stayed here for one night, on the way from Nelson to Christchurch. Our studio room was very clean, comfortable and, as we like to cook for ourselves, we were pleased that the kitchen was well equipped and had the benefit of a full sized oven and hob. We had a private patio which, even though it was close to the road, we would have used if the weather had been warm enough. The road noise was not a problem, even though our room did not have double glazed windows. The bed was extremely comfortable and had the benefit of an electric blanket if needed. I ( as I come from the UK) was pleased to find NZ magazines to browse in the room and loved to hear the birdsong in the morning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ghenna_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Because it was advertised as being “a little” out of town, but providing a courier service between their location and the town centre, a request was made at the time of reserving, to be met at the railway station on our arrival. Nobody did, and there was no subsequent mention from them that they had forgotten to do so.
This resulted in us having to rent a car, since we found dealing with the taxi service (via intercom at their office), absolutely abysmal.
Not a good introduction to Greymouth.
The car rental company (Budget) on the other hand, could not have offered a more better or courteous service, but then this review is not about them.
Having got a car, we proceeded to find our lodgings, which was supposedly (according to the advertising) 2 kilometres, which we had earlier seriously considered walking, had it not been raining. Just as well we did have the car, as we finally found the motel 5 kilometres out of town, on a state highway. Walking would not only have been arduous, but also extremely dangerous.
Putting all of the inaccurate advertising aside, the motel unit itself was very good and absolute value for money, and would have rated a much higher rating were it not for a couple of major negatives. Similar units elsewhere, one would expect to pay almost double for. What let it down considerably (for me), was the shower over (spa) bath combination, which for tall persons like myself, required some feats of contortionism in a very slippery bath. Made me wonder if the obvious damage done to the wall around the taps was not resultant from such a mishap.
One other major negative, was that the units are located very close to the state highway, and in the lounge especially, conversation needs to compete with considerable traffic noise. Blissfully, the bedroom is the furthest room from the road, but still requires one to close all the doors to minimise the noise.
So, unless you are staying for only one night, possibly travelling northward, AND have a car, you might wish to consider locations closer to the town centre.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FyingKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews