We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Coleraine(Greymouth)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greymouth Seaside Top 10 Holiday Park(Greymouth)(Great Value!)
US$48
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$47
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Paroa Hotel(Greymouth)
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Global Village Backpackers(Greymouth)(Great Value!)
US$53
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$41
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sundowner Motel(Greymouth)
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels(Greymouth)(Great Value!)
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
43
43
17
0
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
43
17
0
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroad noisethe kitchenstate highwaylovely ladyheated towel railaway from the roadfree wifione nightlounge roomcomfortable nightone bedroom unitgood sizefriendly ownersarthur's passthe main roadpancake rollseels
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Traveled with my family on the Transalpine and opted this motel after failing to find some decent accommodation in Greymouth town. Although it is only slightly away from town this motel has everything. We requested for a pick up from the train station. Initially we missed the representative in the station crowd but upon a few inquires/calls from the train information office they sent the representative again within no time.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit; one double and single bed in 1 bedroom and two single beds in the other. All with electric blankets. The unit was quite airy. Kitchen was fully equipped with oven, microwave and clean utensils. Bathroom was spacious and the linen was clean. The unit had a decent lounge with a TV and a dining table. Upon request, internet connection details were provided for normal browsing. As they were trialing out the internet facility on premises we were not charged but internet worked. Although this motel is closer to the state highway, we were able to have a decent conversation inside and a sound sleep at night.

Upon check out, they dropped us back to town for our intercity connection. We enjoyed our stay and strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gujrathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Stayed there December 2012. This was the worst place I stayed in new Zealand. They advertise spa and pool facilities. But that is a myth. There is a sign up saying pool closed for season. I doubt if this pool has been open for years. The picture of the pool on their website must be 10 years old. There are weeds growing in the pool. It is a cess pit not a pool. The rooms are comfortable and spacious enough. But the complex has an insect laden marsh section right up against the rear of the building. The busy main road is almost on top of the front of the buildings so much so that passing trucks (which pass throughout the night) sound like they are coming through the walls.

It is well outside the town and has little to offer really.

I hate false advertising, their promotional stuff is just that.

Other than that I enjoyed New Zealand and I liked Greymouth.

Room Tip: Stay as far away from this place as you can.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tiernan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We were staying in Greymouth for one night on our way to Christchurch. Our first impression of the Apostles View was disappointment due to its distance outside of town. However, this did not last long as the owner was so wonderful on our arrival. Our one bedroom apartment was huge. We had a large bedroom with a separate sitting come dinning room linked by a fully equipped kitchen which included a full cooker. There was a car port attached to our accommodation which allowed us to empty the car in the dry. Having had a full week of rain during our 'summer holiday' we were badly in need of laundry facilities. Not only were the washing machine and dryer free the owner also provided us with washing powder for no charge. If you do not mind being 7km outside of Greymouth I'd highly recommend the Apostles View Motel for its value, room size and friendly service.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We stayed one night, in room 2, and were delighted with its facilities - a full cooker as well as a microwave, a living and dining area separate from the kitchenette; a full bath; and an outside sitting area away from the road. And everything very clean. The external of the complex is somewhat dated - a straightforward small roadside motel, nowhere in particular by SH6 outside Greymouth, that a family are running and upgrading: a new spa bath was being installed in unit 1 as we left. So we didn't mind that the well-advertised pool isn't now on offer and isn't likely to be for the indefinite future - with small motels it's the rooms that are important. Our continental breakfast was also ample with both fresh and tinned fruit. Wifi is available but we didn't get a strong signal; and noise from the road was louder than in some places we've stayed but didn't prevent us having an undisturbed and comfortable night. Provided you're only wanting the normal services of a small motel, Apostles View has, we think, much to offer.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian_Denton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

My husband and I only stayed here for one night, on the way from Nelson to Christchurch. Our studio room was very clean, comfortable and, as we like to cook for ourselves, we were pleased that the kitchen was well equipped and had the benefit of a full sized oven and hob. We had a private patio which, even though it was close to the road, we would have used if the weather had been warm enough. The road noise was not a problem, even though our room did not have double glazed windows. The bed was extremely comfortable and had the benefit of an electric blanket if needed. I ( as I come from the UK) was pleased to find NZ magazines to browse in the room and loved to hear the birdsong in the morning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ghenna_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews