We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
44
44
17
0
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
44
17
0
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews road noise the kitchen free wifi away from the road heated towel rail lounge room one night one bedroom unit good size arthur's pass town motel host sh6 accommodation apartment tv
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We didn't have anything booked and stopped off here and negotiated a good rate as there was only a two bedroom apartment left. We were delighted with the apartment, it was very comfortable, well equipped kitchen which was spotlessly clean.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Niamh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Good basic motel a couple of miles out of town with nothing much else in the immediate area.

We enjoyed our stay here - even with our room facing the road it was still quiet enough.

I don't recognise the pool in the picture, but we weren't looking for it - the PR may be a bit OTT but the actual service and facilities are OK

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIDLANDS-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

This motel is a little out of Greymouth if you are on foot but the owner, Steph, comes and picks you up from the Tranzalpine train station in Greymouth and then takes you back in again when it suits you to do shopping and site seeing (she gives good recommednations) and picks you up again. The next day she took us in to pick up our hire car. She couldn't have done more for us and the unit was much more spacious than we had thought and MUCH better than the photos. Very clean and had everything you could want including a hair dryer. Shower was over spa bath. Free use of washing machine too. Absolutely great value.

Room Tip: We had one of the units at the front.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marjorie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Traveled with my family on the Transalpine and opted this motel after failing to find some decent accommodation in Greymouth town. Although it is only slightly away from town this motel has everything. We requested for a pick up from the train station. Initially we missed the representative in the station crowd but upon a few inquires/calls from the train information office they sent the representative again within no time.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit; one double and single bed in 1 bedroom and two single beds in the other. All with electric blankets. The unit was quite airy. Kitchen was fully equipped with oven, microwave and clean utensils. Bathroom was spacious and the linen was clean. The unit had a decent lounge with a TV and a dining table. Upon request, internet connection details were provided for normal browsing. As they were trialing out the internet facility on premises we were not charged but internet worked. Although this motel is closer to the state highway, we were able to have a decent conversation inside and a sound sleep at night.

Upon check out, they dropped us back to town for our intercity connection. We enjoyed our stay and strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gujrathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Stayed there December 2012. This was the worst place I stayed in new Zealand. They advertise spa and pool facilities. But that is a myth. There is a sign up saying pool closed for season. I doubt if this pool has been open for years. The picture of the pool on their website must be 10 years old. There are weeds growing in the pool. It is a cess pit not a pool. The rooms are comfortable and spacious enough. But the complex has an insect laden marsh section right up against the rear of the building. The busy main road is almost on top of the front of the buildings so much so that passing trucks (which pass throughout the night) sound like they are coming through the walls.

It is well outside the town and has little to offer really.

I hate false advertising, their promotional stuff is just that.

Other than that I enjoyed New Zealand and I liked Greymouth.

Room Tip: Stay as far away from this place as you can.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tiernan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews