We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
44
44
19
0
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
44
19
0
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews road noise the kitchen the main highway free wifi heated towel rail away from the road lounge room one night town centre bedroom unit good size friendly owners earplugs motel host accommodation sh6
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014

First off - we almost didn't chose this motel due to the photos on Trip Advisor as it looked old and dated but as it was one of the few motels with availability for two rooms we went with the option. Definitely ignore the older photos as this place has been refurbished considerably. Much to our surprise we were greeted with a beautiful modern room! Upon arrival the owner Stef was fantastic and let us chose between two rooms. We chose room 7 which was a great size, two bedroom very clean and modern with a huge bathroom and doors that opened up to a great view and outdoor area. The unit had everything we needed from full kitchen facilities to a DVD player.
In regards to location - it is on State Highway 6 so expect some road noise (from some rooms), but this didn't bother me at all. It is about 5km from the town centre so it is a long walk to town but I quite liked being out of town and woken by the sound of cows and sheep.
Stef the host is fantastic and will help with anything you need. Overall this was a fantastic stay and I would not hesitate to recommend this place or stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisawlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Lovely staff, great place to stay, everything in the apartment was clean and fresh ,with all you could wish for in it. motel close to town yet still rural . free Wifi ,although road is close it didn't bother us, surrounded by lush greenery and huge hills, woke to the gentle bleating of sheep. great value for money ,would stay here again definately .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Li W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We found it to be everything you would want from a motel.
Clean welcoming with all the facilities at hand.
The owners were most helpful in giving suggestions of places to visit that you would not have known from guide books.
Picture postcard views from our apartment and a carport if it was raining.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a night during our 2 weeks South Island road trip. This hotel turns out to be the least expensive yet very clean and comfortable. Best value for money here. Free wifi is provided. Our room no. 6 has weak reception but I am sure you can ask for room with better reception if it is a concern for you.
My wife forgot her iPhone 5 and we realised when we already drove 3 hrs away. The owner was very kind and mailed it to our next hotel in Queenstown. We can't express enough how thankful we are.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pak0rn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

We had a nice 2 night stay at the Apostles. It was our first 2 nights in NZ.

Its just outside the town of Greymouth on the side of the main road.

The staff all were very friendly and made us feel very welcome.

We had a nice 2 bed chalet, well equipped with TV, DVD player, cooker, microwave, free wifi etc.

The bed was very comfortable which was much appreciate after our long trip.
The only small negative was that we were close to the road so had some traffic noise, but earpugs sorted that out easily. It didnt spoil the stay at all.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Bananabiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews