We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Apostles View Motel
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Lisse, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Just Great”
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Nice couple on the reception, pefect cabin 4 persons in cab. 1, super spa and off season a verry low price.
Higly recomandeble. Buy tickets for shantytown ( only a few km away) on te reception. Its cheaper.
Thanx for 2 good nights.
Anneke en Andre from the Netherlands

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AndreeGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    34
    15
    0
    7
See reviews for
22
54
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We received a friendly welcome from the lady owner and our apartment was very clean, comfortable, well equipped and nicely decorated.

We had free access to a washing machine and dish washer and the free wifi also worked very well.

As others have mentioned, it is on a busy road without soundproofing but throughout the night there was very little traffic so it wasn't an issue for us.

The motel is a short drive outside of Greymouth where there is a good selection of shops and eating places. We could not get a table at the Speight's pub as we hadn't booked (Valentine's night) so ate at the Indian restaurant and had a very nice meal.

For the high level of comfort and facilities enjoyed, the motel was excellent value and we would definitely use it again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank phil100652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed there last week, great accommodation, the best place to stayed if you are passing through, very clean, comfortable bed. Friendly lady at the reception. Very affordable. Highly recommended, Enjoy

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spada101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed here two nights. It is away from the city centre, about 10 min drive The apt had one main and one small room. Rooms are clean with a good size and well equipped kitchen. It was very hot in the room in the afternoon, luckily it cooled down a bit in the evening. Wifi dropped off frequently. No remote for the TV and has to get up and manually change the channels on the TV!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wil, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We have booked this Motel because of the good rating here on Tripadvisor but have been disappointed strongly.
The bungalows which accomodate 2 rooms (we had room #5) are very poorly isolated, also the single glass windows dont close properly so you hear EVERYTHING from outside plus the neighbors, even if wearing earplugs! It's like the neighbors are standing next to your bed chatting and the trucks from the nearby highway run straight through your room.
We got little to no sleep.
Plus the WiFi-Signal was poor (Laptop) to non-existent (iPhone). Also we have 2 Phones and 2 Laptops each and were given 1 access code for the WiFi only. A 2nd code was given after we asked again.
Shower was bad too, it has a curtain, which can be excused for the type of accomodation, however the shower head was mounted at about 1.50m height, which means to wash your hair you would have to squat. And water pressure was weak too.
There are 2 taps in the basin, one with HOT and one with COLD water. How am I supposed to get WARM water????
Bed was comfortable and cleanliness was okay though.

Room Tip: Not sure if other rooms are better but #5 is BAD.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fsm248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanie t, Owner at Apostles View Motel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hi thank you for your comments, we will take them into consideration and sorry we could not please you, feeling they way you did I'm sorry you did not come and speak to me about your concerns other than the internet at the time of check in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed at Apostles View for a few nights at the end of December 2013 - we can't speak highly enough of Stephanie and the staff. Nothing was a bother; our stay was a great experience of peaceful surroundings and a host determined to make us enjoy it. The facilities were very good, and the close proximity to town gave maximum convenience while still being 'in the country'. We will definitely stay there again when we next hit the Coast :-)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leckl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
435 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

First off - we almost didn't chose this motel due to the photos on Trip Advisor as it looked old and dated but as it was one of the few motels with availability for two rooms we went with the option. Definitely ignore the older photos as this place has been refurbished considerably. Much to our surprise we were greeted with a beautiful modern room! Upon arrival the owner Stef was fantastic and let us chose between two rooms. We chose room 7 which was a great size, two bedroom very clean and modern with a huge bathroom and doors that opened up to a great view and outdoor area. The unit had everything we needed from full kitchen facilities to a DVD player.
In regards to location - it is on State Highway 6 so expect some road noise (from some rooms), but this didn't bother me at all. It is about 5km from the town centre so it is a long walk to town but I quite liked being out of town and woken by the sound of cows and sheep.
Stef the host is fantastic and will help with anything you need. Overall this was a fantastic stay and I would not hesitate to recommend this place or stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa_WLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#18 of 20 in Greymouth
465 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
188 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gables Motor Lodge
Gables Motor Lodge
#4 of 20 in Greymouth
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Ashley Hotel
The Ashley Hotel
#17 of 20 in Greymouth
243 reviews
1.1 mi away
Scenicland Motels
Scenicland Motels
#1 of 20 in Greymouth
306 reviews
1.6 mi away
Greymouth Motel
Greymouth Motel
#11 of 20 in Greymouth
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apostles View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apostles View Motel

Property: Apostles View Motel
Address: 296b SH 6 | Coal Creek, Greymouth, New Zealand (Formerly Willowbank Pacifica Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Apostles View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing