We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easter week-end Val and Pete Top quality Motel”
Review of Gables Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gables Motor Lodge
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Ashburton, New Zealand
1 review
“Easter week-end Val and Pete Top quality Motel”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We found our week-end staying at the Gables Motor lodge most enjoyable. Rooms large a very clean and motel size ideal for four of us. The hosts Ian and Tui most helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. They found a hot water bottle when I asked for one for my husband.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    149
    26
    3
    2
See reviews for
81
208
14
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We were very impressed with the facility and the hosts, nothing was too much trouble , this is one of the better motels we have stayed at and we will definitely stay again next time we travel to the coast

Room Tip: Found all rooms had good aspect and were very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrev70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We found this a great place to stay for a night en-route from Franz Josef to Kaikoura. Good sized comfortable room with a huge shower room. Very clean and well equipped. Great advice from the manager on interesting local sights.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jpd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We thought the gables motor lodge was a great place to stay with great service and nothing was too much trouble for management with the laundry and booking our meals and activities would go back their in a heart beat

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piedmont, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The rooms are large and clean. Hosts were especially accommodating with dinner suggestions, reservations, information on activities. We made minimal use of the kitchen facility, but it was well-appointed. Great stopover between Fox Glacier and Abel Tasman.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 751Susan751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Only stayed here one night as a stopover before crossing to the east coast. Our one bedroom unit was clean, tidy and very comfortable. Although on the main highway traffic noise was not a problem.

The motel is a fair distance from the town centre but there were a couple of places close by to eat. The owner was very friendly and gave advice on the local eateries and the best route to use to cross the island.

Well worth a try, really good value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5tings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
Level Contributor
139 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I was surprised through most of the smaller town in the south island that we stayed at motor inns. I think we have a bit of a negative impression of motor inns as North Americans - I have to say that that impression is complete wrong as it applies to New Zealand. All the motor inn's that we stayed at were good to excellent. Gables is included in the category. I remember the bed because it was a king and with very nice crisp sheets. The room was spacious and that was important if you are dragging two large duffle bags. I also noted that these inns (Gables included) were pretty well booked up. A travelling road show with tourists pulled in beside us at the Gables. Yes and there was milk in the refrigerator - I thought that was a very nice touch. The one possible short coming is that there are no eating facilities in this inn. However reception was able to steer us down the road a piece - where undoubtedly they steered everyone else.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank popsicleCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
3.9 mi away
Paroa Hotel
Paroa Hotel
#5 of 20 in Greymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#18 of 20 in Greymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 20 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenicland Motels
Scenicland Motels
#1 of 20 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel - Greymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gables Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gables Motor Lodge

Property: Gables Motor Lodge
Address: 84 High Street, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Greymouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Greymouth
#4 Family Hotel in Greymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gables Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
12 Ground-floor spacious, comfortable, well-appointed studio, 1 & 2-bedroom suites, serviced daily. 6 Studio suites (sleep 1-2), 3 x 1-bedroom suites (sleep up to 5), 3 x 2-bedroom suites (sleep up to 6). Fully equipped kitchens, microwave, fridge. Super-King/queen-size beds, electric blankets, heating, hairdryers, telephone. SKY TV 50+ digital channels, DVD players in all rooms, selection of DVD movies available at reception, spa baths (some suites). Continental breakfast, guest laundry. Cot/highchair available on request. 50M to licensed restaurant. Unlimited FREE WiFi internet. All major credit cards, EFTPOS accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gables Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gables Hotel Greymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing