We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable stay”
Review of Paroa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Paroa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Certificate of Excellence
rusty007
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A memorable stay”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights over Queens Birthday weekend 2012. This is probably one of the first places we've stayed without me checking up the reviews on Trip Advisor. I have to say that the photos on the internet about this place was what drew us.
On arrival, I was a bit disappointed about the room being so "dated" but I guess beggars can't be choosy. I picked this place because it allowed dogs! I have to say that the only negative would be the interestingly dated decor within the room.

Aside from that, everything else was what we expected. The room was clean and spacious, warm and the bed comfortable - what more could you ask for really? The owner, his employees greeted us with a smile and at the end, I came to realise that despite the room, the people make it all worth coming here again. We ate at the restaurant for two nights in a row. We also mingled with a few locals at the pub.

There's limited cell phone reception here and this can be taken both ways. We found it a blessing not to have so many people interrupt us for our quiet weekend getaway.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rusty2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    33
    15
    5
    7
See reviews for
22
53
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kenora, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

There are problems using the internet to find motel rooms and one can never really be sure what you're going to get. The comments were good for the Paroa and the location looked good (right on the Tasman Sea) but in reality the room we had was really old style and although we were comfortable enough we thought we overpaid for what we got. There was a weird smell the first night but that seemed to clear up for the second night. The sea is there but because of some flooding along the shore one has to walk a considerable distance to find access to the beach. Internet wasn't so good but then that was typical for almost every place in New Zealand. TV was OK and parking was OK.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenoradave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

There is nothing particularly fancy about the Paroa Hotel but it is a great stopover when travelling down the west coast of South Island. The rooms are not luxurious but they are of a good size, are clean and are well equipped. Our room had a small deck facing towards the ocean and was a great place to enjoy a quiet beer or sundowner. Friendly staff in the adjacent bar/restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilkleytravelsnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burleigh Heads, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2012

From the word 'Welcome' our experience was nothing but perfect.
The welcoming from the Monk Family was genuine and warm, inside their lovely pub,restaurant,bottle store and spotless units with Plasma TVs.

We have nothing but great words to say about the place and the people.

The food was 'Michigan' standard from breakfast to dinner.
If you like your meat then you MUST try the ribs, these are by far the best ribs I have ever eaten.

The pub was incredibly friendly, the locals are nothing but a laugh. Always good to tell a tale and 'pull your leg'.

The units were very spacious and modern, not to mention spotless.
Comfortable beds, flat screen teles, great showers, with instantaneous and powerful hot water. Even the linen was top notch.

Berne and Kath were very pleasant and out going, helping us plan our day for the family. Sending us to all the best spots, some off the beaten track. Big Thanks.

Alan and Olivia running the bar ran a great ship and were very bubbly, smiley and funny.
It was difficult to leave the pub sometimes with the service we received.

The restaurant got very busy by night with a fantastic atmosphere, clearly the food is a hit with the locals and us travellers.
The bar has plenty of room, pool tables, pokies. caters for all. Even the smokers with large outdoor area.

I will be bringing my family back to stay here without a doubt, I plan to keep in touch with the Monk Family who have been nothing but wonderful.
I really cant thank them enough for such a delightful experience.

You will not be disappointed. I have stayed in many hotels, hostels, camp grounds, motels.
This is in my top 3 .
I promise.

Room Tip: They are all brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern CA
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Stayed in Room 7 which is a handicap room, and has a tiny ocean view which we didn't expect. Quiet and contrary to other comments very modern, only complaint I had was no place to put our suitcases in this particular room but on the floor. Maybe due to Handicap Room, because we also looked at room 4 and it had an area for clothes. Drank a pint at the pub upon arrival, which we loved, so we didn't have to drive and as it was a Friday night, lots of locals were in attendance, and all very friendly! The food was pub fare, and though they were very busy with all the locals, we also weren't overly impressed with the food...not bad, just not great either. Our proprietor found out we were interested in fishing and hooked us up with another guest who comes annually from London just to fish and between them we had a guide! Turns out world renowned! Another wonderful storke of luck on our travels through NZ! There is a nice walking path to the beach and a peekaboo view of the ocean from our room. LOVED the free wi fi, which seemed pretty fast as well. Super nice, accomodating proprietors. Real people. We had a GREAT expereince here!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7. The only negative, was it could use some place to put your suitcases...nothing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momospond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We were very much looking forward to our stay at the Paroa Hotel but left with a somewhat bitter taste the next morning. This was mainly due to us expecting a nice restaurant (as advertised on their website) and not an average country pub. In the motel rooms, modern decor was nowhere to be seen, the opposite more so. What we liked were the size of rooms and a very comprehensive list of suggestions for walks/hikes in the region.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrKaefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Only stayed one night as we were passing through from Franz Josef to Christchurch so spent less than 24hrs here which was enough. Pub motel, basic room, dated decor, comfortable bed, friendly hosts although the older guy did seem a bit put out when we order a full english breakfast. Breakfast was ok but evening meal (steak with cooked vegetables) was terrible. 5km from Greymouth, recommend the Monteith's brewery tour. Free wifi with no limit.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank untermc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greymouth hotels
3.6 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
187 reviews
3.9 mi away
Gables Motor Lodge
Gables Motor Lodge
#4 of 20 in Greymouth
366 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#18 of 20 in Greymouth
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Ashley Hotel
The Ashley Hotel
#17 of 20 in Greymouth
241 reviews
3.9 mi away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 20 in Greymouth
333 reviews
3.8 mi away
Scenicland Motels
Scenicland Motels
#1 of 20 in Greymouth
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paroa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paroa Hotel

Property: Paroa Hotel
Address: 508 Main South Road | Paroa, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paroa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paroa Hotel is a family run business and has been recently renovated. Most rooms are completely refurbished with high quality linen, super king size beds, high speed wifi and some rooms have Netflix. The restaurant and Bar have been recently renovated and offer one of the best dining experiences in Greymouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paroa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing