We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service ”
Review of Paroa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paroa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Queenstown, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding service ”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Booked in and Bernie very friendly and helpful. Room immaculate and well appointed. Had dinner in the restaurant - meals were simply superb. Outstanding service. Highly recommended. Anybody passing through Greymouth should stay at the Paroa Hotel - they cater equally well for the local community and tourists.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    35
    15
    5
    7
See reviews for
22
53
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I am a West Coaster and was returning home on a bit of a spiritual journey. I chose to stay at the Paroa pub on the recommendation of a family member but also to experience great West Coast hospitality delivered by great West Coasters. We were not disappointed. My husband and I stayed in a studio unit which was clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. We had dinner in the dining room twice, and although the meals were slow in coming (it was soooo busy) they were worth the wait. We were relaxed, in holiday mode and enjoyed soaking up the atmosphere. I Would suggest if you were eating in to get into the dining room early, especially if you have children with you. One of the highlights for me was the privilege of meeting Bernie Monk and his lovely wife Kath, Thank you mine hosts it was fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosekc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
echuca
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

We 5 arrived late at 8pm and were surprised at how many cars were in the park. All seemed to be there for the beautiful and generous meals. We were booked into the 3 bedroom house which was very modern and clean. The Monk's were great hosts and constantly checked if all was ok. We would definitely stay there again if visiting the west coast.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank garth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I had the pleasure of visiting the Paroa Hotel for a private function recently and was blown away by the hospitality. We were made to feel so welcome and absolutely nothing was a problem.
I was totally impressed with the quality of the food - Nigella Lawason eat your heart out.
Thank you so much for making my visit so memorable - absolutely recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou722014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I recently was in Greymouth and had the pleasure of staying at the Paroa Hotel for a weekend. I have nothing but good things to say about this establishment and the service received. The rooms were clean and tidy and the restaurant was warm and welcoming. We ate in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner and the food was outstanding. Wonderful desserts! The staff were very friendly and the beer was poured with expert precision.
I had this Hotel recomended to me by a close friend and I will have no hesitation in recomending to friends, family and work colleagues.
I had a fantastic experience.

Room Tip: Rooms near the back have a great view of the cricket pitch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I recently had business in Greymouth for a couple days. I took my family with me so they could have a bit of time off while I was working. Alan Monk was the first person we met and he was amazing! he was very accommodating and made us feel very welcome. He advised us on things that the family could do while I was working and also pulled a glorious pint for when I was finished work. I tried a few pints and they were all equally good.

Food is fantastic also. get the ribs!

We are looking at coming back to stay when we go on a family holiday.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Fantastic place to stay, the hotel is run by a family who are more than helpful with anything needed. The restaurant has fantastic meals which are great value for money. Would definately recommend this hotel as a great place to stay

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank kate l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greymouth hotels
3.6 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
188 reviews
3.9 mi away
Gables Motor Lodge
Gables Motor Lodge
#4 of 20 in Greymouth
366 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Ashley Hotel
The Ashley Hotel
#17 of 20 in Greymouth
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#18 of 20 in Greymouth
466 reviews
4.8 mi away
Apostles View Motel
Apostles View Motel
#13 of 20 in Greymouth
95 reviews
3.9 mi away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 20 in Greymouth
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paroa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paroa Hotel

Property: Paroa Hotel
Address: 508 Main South Road | Paroa, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paroa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paroa Hotel is a family run business and has been recently renovated. Most rooms are completely refurbished with high quality linen, super king size beds, high speed wifi and some rooms have Netflix. The restaurant and Bar have been recently renovated and offer one of the best dining experiences in Greymouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paroa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing