We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
41
68
32
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
68
32
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one night free taxi three rooms new zealand bathroom sink tranz alpine train small room town centre great bathroom booked rooms comfortable bed nice place to stay monteiths brewery the owner clean rooms the main road definitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2018

We were led to our room under the staircase which they called a "studio". After asking I was told that this room was chosen because it was raining. ???. I had pre paid.. I wrote on the night. " The hotel facilities list is greatly stretched, Eg, Cable TV is false. TV is tiny. The mattress is well worn in/out in the room, as was the padding in the one chair. This was an old Single room with a double bed stuck in it. We moved the chair to open the suit case. The female manager was quite abrupt in attitude. We decided to drive by any bella vista hovel after that. Some people are just in the wrong business.

Room tip: I would suggest a room in another hotel.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank martin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicAtBella, Owner at Bella Vista Motel - Greymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

Hi Martin,

Thank you for your feedback and we’re sorry that our motel didn’t meet your expectations. We are surprised that it has taken you almost a year to place this review but your feedback is important.

All our rooms in our motel are studios. Each room has been purpose built to accommodate a double bed so your remark that the room ‘was an old single room’ is incorrect. The room you booked was a Compact Queen Studio with ensuite bathroom. As the name suggests, these rooms are smaller than the majority of our studio rooms, they are a lead-in room and the price you pay reflects that status and size.

Regarding comfort and facilities. We’re not certain where you read Cable TV is available but this isn’t correct. ‘Cable TV’ per se is not available in New Zealand so we will try and remove this if we find it on any of our listings. The mattress in your room has since been replaced.

We’d like to reassure future customers that we don’t choose rooms based on whether it is raining or not, so possibly you misunderstood. Rooms are provided based on what our guests have booked.

Bella Vista is the only motel chain in New Zealand that participates in the Qualmark quality assurance program and each motel is independently audited every year. Bella Vista Greymouth has been assessed as a 4 star quality motel.

We do encourage our guests to engage with us personally if they find anything at fault during their stay so it can be remedied there and then. We’re disappointed that we didn’t have that opportunity with you Martin.

Overall we’re confident that our Bella Vista motel meets our customers’ expectations based on the positive reviews we do receive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018 via mobile

We had two rooms at the Bella Vista for two couples.
Lovely warm welcome from the lady on the reception, great warm and clean rooms.
Great having the kettle, toaster etc in the room.
Minimal noise and disruption even though the motel was really busy. Super pleasant :)
Loved the suggestion to visit the Monteiths brewery too which was absolutely awesome!
Would highly recommend and would definitely be back. Ticked all the boxes and fantastic kind staff. Great place :)

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Hungry_Ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicAtBella, Owner at Bella Vista Motel - Greymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Hi Ali

Thanks you very much for your kind words and great review. We are very lucky to have places like the brewery on our door step along with other fantastic restaurants and cafes. Hopefully we will see you back again soon.

Kind regards
Nic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

Nikki and Chris go the extra mile.
Rooms are dark and updated.
Rooms have everything you need.
High recommend for travelers
Spa baths are comfortable for one, can be a little noise in the morning but that's to be expected from the cars

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank CherieN86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicAtBella, Owner at Bella Vista Motel - Greymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

Thanks for the great review Cherie, your continued support means a lot to us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

We made an unplanned stop here to shelter from a threatened tropical storm and secured the last available room.
The reception was very friendly and the room itself was clean and tidy.
As mentioned in other reviews there is not a kitchen sink in the room, which makes life a bit difficult.
Overall a very good stay which avoided the storm.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank tr250man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicAtBella, Owner at Bella Vista Motel - Greymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thanks for taking the time to give us a review, we do appreciate it and hope the rest of your journey went as planned

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights. Very comfortable room with ensuite. Plenty of outdoor soace, use of BBQ & garden. Only criticism was there was no kitchen sink to wash our dishes so had to use the bathroom sink.
Spotless & very friendly.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lexie2Hawick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicAtBella, Owner at Bella Vista Motel - Greymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Thanks very much for your comments, we appreciate you taking the time! Unfortunately our compact studios are set up this way and are more suitable to an overnight traveler. I will definitely pass on your comments regarding the cleanliness to my staff and I hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday.
Many thanks
Nic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews