We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views, lovely host & a photographer's dream”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Breakers Boutique Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 16 Greymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed one night on our visit to South Island last week & it was a great experience. Gorgeous views & lovely accommodation. Jan was a wonderful host and went far & beyond in her help. It is a great place for photographers being so close to the beach .Breakfast was scrumptious! I would highly recommend this place & wished we could of stayed longer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thanks for your lovely review. Lovely to meet you both and glad you enjoyed your stay. The West Coast is a photographer's dream and home to many like minded artists. Glad you got to experience it for yourself. Hope to see you back sometime - to catch some better photography light :-) Cheers Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

We recently visited NZ, and looked for somewhere on the north west coast and selected Breakers using primarily Tripadvisor reviews, and we were not disappointed. From the beginning, with Jan's emails providing a trip plan, then arriving to such a wonderful welcome and views, it was a lovely choice. A comfortable room with fantastic ocean views, a lovely walk on the beach collecting rocks, and a glass of wine in the evening, after great fish and chips at the local Rapahoe pub. Nothing better really! Sharon also provided great hospitality and advice etc for the second night.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thanks so much for your great review - much appreciated. Good to hear we lived up to the other Tripadvisor review expectations. Really enjoyed meeting you both and I know Sharon enjoyed looking after you also. Hope to see you again sometime. Cheers Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We only stayed the single night here but it was wonderful and so friendly a place to stay, we simply cant fault the stay at all. The room was wonderful and Jan was so helpful to the point of helping us with our very heavy cases from the car. Could ask for anything else in the location, watching the sun go down was breathing taking from our balcony that evening. We must go again theres no excuse to miss Breakers if your are touring the South Island.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a great sea view so dont worry which one your in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thanks so much for your lovely review. I really enjoyed meeting you both and sharing our little slice of paradise. Really do hope you get to come back again - I look forward to seeing you both. Cheers Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Great welcome from Jan and a lovely stay at Breakers. The room was very clean, comfortable and the balcony provided a beautiful view across the sea and the sunset. We took advantage of Jan's homemade pizza which was excellent. Feel asleep listening to the waves and woke to a wonderful breakfast with everything available - the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs was particularly good. Jan helped us out with things to do on our onward journey which were perfect. Only drawback was we only stayed for one night. Great place to stay on the West coast!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NetsandJude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thanks for your fantastic review. Really enjoyed meeting you both and felt so privileged to share your honeymoon with you. Look forward to seeing you back again some time real soon. Cheers Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Our stay at Breakers was incredible - fabulous accommodation with incredible views of the water and the amazing sunsets. Jan and Stephen were fantastic hosts and made us feel at home. Jan is a great hostess who served breakfasts from cranberry pancakes to eggs benedict. Both Jan and Stephen were amazingly helpful on recommending the best of the local attractions and restaurants. We would recommend Breakers as a must-stay when in New Zealand.

Room Tip: Room on the second floor give you a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thanks very much for your lovely review. Stephen and I thoroughly enjoyed meeting you both and enjoyed our chats with you. Super pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and all our offerings. Look forward to meeting up again - hopefully one day in Canada! Cheers Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We arrived on a rainy early evening. Jan had our room ready, with dry areas for our wet clothes. She made us a tasty pizza, ordered ahead, so we didn't have to venture out again. The rain lifted for the sun to come through with a beautiful rainbow. We had a terrific view and balcony overlooking the beach. The sound of the waves was outstanding. We spent about an hour walking the beach, taking pictures of the beautiful vegetation. We felt it was a perfect place, both for food, lovely multi-course breakfast, and Jan's friendliness. Jan had email us ahead of our arrival--welcoming us and asking to advise on sights to see. This is what a B & B should always be. Thanks so much, Jan!

Room Tip: If a view is important to you , ask for one. Jan has several.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonken99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thanks so much for your lovely review. So pleased everything was to your satisfaction - we appreciate the fact that you appreciate we're doing the best we can to ensure our guests stay is as memorable as possible. We love our location and love sharing it and enjoy meeting wonderful guests like yourselves. Thanks for staying with us. Warm regards Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

A little remote but as compensation, the property has great views. I’m not sure what boutique means, but Jan offers a good B&B that compares favourably with other regular B&B’s in NZ and she was able to give us good ideas on what to do.

Aside for the “no shoes” policy, our real concern was that we had been advised that there were no dogs/cats due to allergy issues but alas this was not the case. While the dogs may be kept away from guests, if you have any allergies, you should go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MagellansTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed the views and found our onward sightseeing suggestions useful. Regarding being remote – the whole West Coast is remote with a population of only 33000 people in a region 500 kilometres long there are no bustling cities here. Rural we most definitely are, situated on the Great Coast Road - rated one of the top 10 coastal drives in the world, overlooking the Tasman Sea, just 14kms north of the township of Greymouth – an easy 10 minute drive away.
Regarding your allergy to dogs/cats – it is unfortunate that you were given the incorrect information in this instance presumably by your travel agent as there were certainly no assurances given on our part of there being no dogs. The dogs (our boys as we call them) are a feature of our property and are mentioned in all our marketing collateral (website, brochure, Facebook, blog etc). For many of our guests it is often a highlight of their stay with us meeting Nico and Ziggy. Cheers Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greymouth
8.6 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 19 in Greymouth
203 reviews
22.1 mi away
Awatuna Homestead
Awatuna Homestead
#1 of 1 in Awatuna
58 reviews
16.3 mi away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
North Shore B&B
North Shore B&B
#2 of 16 in Greymouth
14 reviews
8.4 mi away
Scenicland Motels
Scenicland Motels
#1 of 19 in Greymouth
323 reviews
8.2 mi away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 19 in Greymouth
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers Boutique Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Boutique Accommodation

Address: 1367 State Highway 6, Nine Mile Creek | 14kms north of Greymouth, Greymouth 7873, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Greymouth
Price Range: £109 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breakers Boutique Accommodation 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute beachfront location overlooking the Tasman Sea on the Punakaiki coastline - 14kms north of Greymouth and 30kms south of Punakaiki, West Coast of New Zealand. Set on 2 acres of native bush and landscaped gardens, all rooms have great sea views, ensuite bathrooms and outdoor deck or balcony access. Private track from property to access remote Nine Mile beach for beach walks, waterfall and rock pools. Breakfast included in room rate and optional in-house dining menu available until 7pm including local beer and wine. Warm hospitality with great local knowledge. Sit back, relax and enjoy the fantastic sea views and fall asleep to the sound of the breaking waves. Come share our slice of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breakers Boutique Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing