We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jade Court Motor Lodge
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Hokitika
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great stopover”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed here one night enroute to the Glaciers. Graham was helpful in advising where to eat. There is a lovely Garden area to sit as well as laundry facilities. The Motor Lodge has been refurbished .The large room is equipped with a kitchenette,sofa and very large bathroom. Bed very comfortable. Would highly recommend .

Room Tip: Our room was across from the office facing the garden . Very quiet .Rooms all seem to be ground leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    71
    20
    2
    1
See reviews for
41
77
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

To be honest, this wasn't our first choice for Hokitika accommodation. But as our first choice was booked weeks in advance, we had to find another place. Jade Court Motel is an older-style, budget motel but it is a good value. Our studio unit was a good size, clean, sunny, comfortable, and well-maintained with some updated features, such as the bathroom. We dined out, but the cooking facilities were terrific: oven and stove, microwave, what looked to be a brand new set of stainless steel pots and pans. The tea kettle seemed new as well. The managers (or are they the owners?) were friendly and allowed us to check in early. There was free WiFi Internet in the room. Parking was right in front. It was walkable to the beach and Hokitika's shops and restaurants (but we drove). It was just down the road from Hokitaka's Glow Worm Dell.

The only downside was the traffic noise as it is on Hokitika's main road, but the noise subsided substantially after dark. During the day, a train occasionally passes on the other side of the property. So try to get a room away from the road and bring your earplugs if you are a light sleeper.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs and ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PassarinhoAzul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Hokitika bills itself as a "cool little town", but compared to everywhere else on the West Coast, frankly, it's a dump. The Jade Court is nice - people friendly, rooms clean but avoid paying extra for a King Spa room - the tank's not big enough to fill the bath. I asked them about it and they said that it should have only have taken a couple of hours to heat back up - 'nuff said.

Room Tip: Our room didn't face onto the main road but no idea if the other rooms suffer from traffic noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Very easy to locate and close the the town centre.

Clean and tidy accommodation offered by a friendly host.

We had a one bedroom unit that had a full stove, which was just as well as we gave up on eating out. We were able to cook a frozen pizza from the local well stocked supermarket. There was an incredibly long wait (80+minutes on a Thursday night) for a table at restaurants and ditto for takeaways from the pizza place in town.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanaka08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

It is hard to fault the place. We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay there and found Hokitika to be a charming and interesting small town. Despite some reviews to the contrary we found it to be very quiet. Highly recommended!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Korsakoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We were a party of four adults and stayed in a two bedroomed apartment, which was very clean and well equipped. We had no problems with hot water or noise from the single train line as some others have mentioned. The garden is a real asset to the motel, and we really enjoyed sitting there, with a few drinks, as the weather was perfect. The motel is well situated for the town centre, which was, as a previous reviewer mentioned, a ghost town in the evening, and not much better during the day. Luckily we stumbled across one nice restaurant called Cafe de Paris, which was busy, and the food was good. I would recommend a visit to Shanty Town, a reconstruction of a gold mining village, situated just off the road to Greymouth.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Easy to find as you drive into Hokitika from Arthur's Pass. Had everything we wanted - 2 rooms, kitchen area and bathroom with good strong shower, with parking right outside the door. Just round the block from the 'town centre'......which is just a ghost town. There are supposed to be some restaurants there but we just went to New World supermarket and bought some food to cook in the kitchen. In the morning we tried to give the town another chance and visited a couple of the arts and crafts galleries and the beach (which is just a mass of driftwood). Definitely a place to do a quick overnight and not to linger.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EalingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hokitika hotels
0.3 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
0.4 mi away
Fitzherbert Court Motel
Fitzherbert Court Motel
#8 of 9 in Hokitika
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
0.6 mi away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#2 of 9 in Hokitika
264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Drifting Sands Beachfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jade Court Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jade Court Motor Lodge

Property: Jade Court Motor Lodge
Address: 85 Fitzherbert Street, Hokitika 7810, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Hokitika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jade Court Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jade Court Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing