We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Expensive for what you get, and the staff...not so friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fitzherbert Court Motel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Hokitika
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The Fitzherbert was dark inside and dated And for the price, it is not so great. The room at $180 NZ is quite pricey for what you get. We stayed at another motel on the same trip in Greymouth (just 3km off the main road) for $140NZ and it was cleaner, more spacious, better beds, nicer kitchen and much friendlier staff. I would not stay here again nor would I recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

With the terrible weather on the West Coast last week, I found myself without power and in need of a hotel for myself and my wee girl. Finally I found a room at Fitzherbert Court, advised them I was at Blue Spur and said I would come right down. It took me 5 mins to pack a bag, 15 mins to get to town. When I reached the front desk I was informed that I hadn't arrived soon enough and my room had been given to someone else. No offer of help, no offer to find alternative accommodation, just a pure need to book their rooms in full and gather the revenue. For any potential travellers I would advise booking somewhere more reliable to ensure your booking is upheld.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank SaWiLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Comfortable and roomy, clean and well equiped. Staff were friendly. We booked at short notice and everything was ready when we arrived. We had a full day biking the new Wildenrness Trail - fantastic biking - we were wet and tired on our return and the showers & spa were great. Comfortable bed. We walked home from town after a good night out and it was not too far.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the corner spa, and away from the neighbours at the northern end, they can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TonyAnna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Room didn't feel comfortable and not very clean. No available power plugs to recharge iPad's, cameras etc. This was our most expensive motel ( at $165) but not the best value, Dirty rubbish bins outside room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Booked the motel at short notice and was pleasantly surprised. Self contained apartment clean, plenty of space and reasonably quite despite being on main road. David host was extremely friendly and helpful. A nice location but really need a car for town if shopping (5mins) but easy walk to Glow Worms.

Has a laundry and a small cost for powder and usage. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room at rear of complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LandS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We found this motel to be very clean with lots of natural light. Friendly and helpful hosts. Self contained so you can cook but we ate at a great pizza bar in town thanks to Dave's suggestion. Great waking to a thunderstorm rolling in across the Tasman Sea.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The room was clean and tidy. The boss was quite nice and friendly. He gave us two packs of instant noodles as gifts. We cooked our own dinner in the apartment. We love the kitchen with big windows and it has all useful cooking equipments. We enjoyed our dinner very much! We strongly recommend this Motel to other travelers who stay in Hokitica!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annny1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hokitika hotels
0.6 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
#4 of 10 in Hokitika
578 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
7.2 mi away
Awatuna Homestead
Awatuna Homestead
#1 of 1 in Awatuna
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jade Court Motor Lodge
Jade Court Motor Lodge
#5 of 10 in Hokitika
170 reviews
0.8 mi away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#2 of 10 in Hokitika
267 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzherbert Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzherbert Court Motel

Address: 191 Fitzherbert Street, Hokitika 7810, New Zealand (Formerly Flag Inn Fitzherbert Court)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hokitika
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hokitika
Price Range: £70 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzherbert Court Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We at Fitzherbert Court Motel endeavour to provide you with clean warm rooms, comfortable beds, good showers and corner spas. Our rooms are equipped with everything to make them user friendly and we do have an accent on sustainability and recycling.We will assist you with any information you require to the best of our ability and are available if you have any problems whatsoever. We have a good knowledge of the local area and the South Island as a whole.We look forward to hosting you because that is what we do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitzherbert Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flag Hotel Hokitika

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing