We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Ocean View” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beachfront Hotel Hokitika

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Hokitika
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Ocean View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Our ocean view room in the new wing at the Beachfront Hotel was spacious with a king bed, desk, two armchairs, two luggage racks and had a large bathroom with walk-in shower. The room was clean and in good repair but was more motel than hotel in terms of the fixtures and furnishings. There was no air-conditioning and the room was quite hot when we arrived but opening the sliding doors to the balcony cooled the room off nicely. The very best feature of the room and the reason to stay is the panoramic ocean view. The view can be enjoyed from inside but is even better from the room’s private balcony. It was outfitted with a small table and two chairs and was the perfect spot to enjoy a glass of wine and watch the picture-perfect sunset.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2BBandBeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony M, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Hokitika, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Beachfront Hotel Hokitika.
I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your comments regarding the Oceanview room you stayed in.
I look forward to having you stay with us again one day in the future!

Warm regards,

Anthony Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    184
    88
    53
    18
See reviews for
50
335
21
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Very helpful woman at reception. She gave us a room in the older section with an ocean view. Extremely comfortable bed and good reception on the free wifi. Motel is situated right in the centre of town but not noisy. Enjoyed a good meal at the pub next door too.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony M, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Hokitika, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Anne,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Beachfront Hotel Hokitika.
I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your comments regarding the receptionist and your meal at Coasters.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm regards,

Anthony Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We walked into the hotel late in the evening and asked if there were any rooms available, we had just driven from Queenstown over the course of the day. Maegan at the front desk was friendly and she got us a room on the second floor (they only have three), that faced the ocean and it was only $130. The room had amazingly comfortable beds (I slept on the king bed) and the showers were awesome, the floors were even heated, as was the towel rack. The ocean was right outside our hotel room and in the morning it was awesome to wake up to it. If anyone goes to Hokitika, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommw5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony M, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Hokitika, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Tom,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Beachfront Hotel Hokitika.
I am thrilled you had an enjoyable stay and we appreciate the great feedback on our staff and the hotel.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Anthony Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Clean and spacious room, recently renovated. Beaut bathroom and even though we only booked standard room, we could still see the water. Dining room was excellent. Would recommend. Easy parking outside room and walk across to the beach and to the town. Interesting shops in town.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaye R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony M, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Hokitika, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Kaye,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Beachfront Hotel Hokitika.
I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and the little town of Hokitika!
We look forward to welcoming you back again at the hotel in the near future.

Warm regards,

Anthony Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed here for one night to break up the journey back to Christchurch. Hotel has been renovated and the only good one in town, Hokitika is a small town where everything closes early so not much to do once it gets dark. The hotel rooms were large, spacious, clean and very comfortable with amazing sea views. Only small downfall, rooms need little things like bottle opener, cutlery and plates and so on. The bathroom floors were also heated...
Staff friendly and hotel is right in the middle of town. Great stop to break the long drive, however not much to do in town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donny15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony M, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Hokitika, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Donny,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Beachfront Hotel Hokitika.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and yes it is disappointing that there is not a lot of 'night life' in Hokitika, however we have a small population which makes its hard for businesses to extend their trading hours.
There should have been a bottle opener in your room in the cupboard under the TV so I apologise for this. I also thank you for your comments regarding additional cutlery which I will look to add to the rooms.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm regards,

Anthony Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Very nice hotel with good room on ground floor overlooking the sea. We arrived in early March and were advised that although the restaurant was open they had lost their licence so we would only have soft drinks available. We asked if we could book a room service meal and got a bottle of wine from the nearby liquor store resulting in an excellent meal with wine in the pribvacy of our own room. It was a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: Ocean view is worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RossR696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony M, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Hokitika, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Ross,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Beachfront Hotel Hokitika.
I sincerely apologise for not being able to consumer alcohol in the restaurant during your stay and thank you for your understanding. Our On license had been suspended for 24 hours due to a staff member that lied about their age at a private function.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the future and thanks again for the positive review.

Warm regards,

Anthony Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Room was not what the picture showed. Room suitable for backpackers. Over priced, old furnishings, drapes and net curtains that don't fit, little old fridge on the ground under a small table. Cluttered and poorly organised. We stayed in the room as little as possible. Restaurant was good food for dinner and breakfast. We would only go back if we were in one of the new beach facing rooms which looked good from outside.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony M, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Hokitika, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Wendy,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Beachfront Hotel Hokitika.
I am dissapointed that the room you had booked was not what you were expecting as the room type on Booking.Com is well explained and has images to view also.
Our banner or main image is one of the Oceanview wing, however when making your reservation I would recommend that you are careful and fully read this description to ensure you are comfortable with the room you are paying for.
The room type you did book is a 2.5 star budget room and we do not try to advertise that the room is anything more and also advise that it doesn't offer an Oceanview.
I do hope you return and try out an Oceanview room in the near future. Please do not hesitate to email myself directly at : anthony.moore@beachfronthotel.co.nz and I will personally look after your stay with us.

Warm regards,

Anthony Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hokitika hotels
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
0.6 mi away
Fitzherbert Court Motel
Fitzherbert Court Motel
#8 of 9 in Hokitika
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#2 of 9 in Hokitika
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jade Court Motor Lodge
Jade Court Motor Lodge
#4 of 9 in Hokitika
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.8 mi away
252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront Hotel Hokitika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront Hotel Hokitika

Property: Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
Address: 111 Revell Street, Hokitika 7810, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Hokitika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachfront Hotel Hokitika 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stunning Beachfront Hotel Hokitika located by the beach and in the central of Hokitika offering wide range of accommodation from 28 luxury, modern and spacious Ocean View Rooms overlooking Tasman Sea, to 23 newly refurbished Driftwood superior rooms to 2 & 3 bedroom suites or The Magnificent Penthouse. Newly refurbished Ocean View Restaurant with its sleek and contemporary design overlooking Tasman Sea offering daily breakfast, dinner (A La Carte, Buffet and Set Menu Options) Central location to Pancake rocks, Shantytown, Gold panning, art galleries featuring jade, wood, ruby rock, gold, glass, Fox and Franz Joseph Glaciers as well as numerous rainforest walks and cycle trails. * Free WIFI, * Free Parking, * Laundry service, * Bike storage, * Free Netflix (Only in Penthouse) * Bottle Store on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Beachfront Hotel Hokitika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hokitika Beachfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing