We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome ocean view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Hokitika
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed a night in the 'new wing' with the ocean view rooms. Everything had the feel of a quality hotel and the big sliding glass doors to the balcony overlooking the sea was just awesome. Enjoyed the spa bath too!

Location is spot on - 50m away is a New World, good for picking up the unplanned chips, dip and bubbles and the local good pub/bar is just around the corner. Made for a short walk back after watching the AB test!

25 min walk back to the airport. Couldn't be bothered ordering a taxi and I needed to clear my head!

Rooms in the 'Driftwood Wing' didn't look so nice though ...

Room Tip: Ocean view worth paying a few extra $ for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c33kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony M, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Hokitika, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Beachfront Hotel Hokitika.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found everything convenient to the hotel.
We are also about to commence the last stage of a refurbishment of a block of our Driftwood rooms to a Superior level of 3 star plus. Please do consider these if you are back in Hokitika again in the future.

Warm regards,
Anthony Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

299 - 305 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed for 4 nights for an event being held in Hokitikia. The room was lovely and spacious - was only disappointed that there was no sky and the wifi was expensive so never used it.
The room was very quiet - I couldn't hear the rain and gales but ocean noise was quite peaceful

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Chochick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony M, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Hokitika, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Beachfront Hotel Hokitika.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and apologise for the confusion with the WIFI as we do provide 2 hours foc per day. Our compendiums are being updated in the next few days to reflect this.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Anthony Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We booked two ocean view rooms on a Saturday Night. We had a great stay. Was surprised to have one room that had a walk in shower and the other had a shower over spa bath. Great view over the beach. Room was very warm in the cold weather. For breakfast we all had the Pancake special and it was a huge breakfast that was super yummy. Overall a great stay and will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Check if your room has a spa bath. Higher floors get the best beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally-Jane111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony M, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Hokitika, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Sally-Jane,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Beachfront Hotel Hokitika.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the yummy breakfast the next morning.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm regards,

Anthony Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Lovely hotel in the centre of Hokitika. Definitely worth being in the ocean view wing, very modern with great ocean views. Would definitely stay here again. Nicest looking place in Hokitika. The furnishing let the room down only a little bit, but still lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bec L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony M, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Hokitika, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Bec,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Beachfront Hotel Hokitika.
I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and our cool little town here on the West Coast!
Thank you also for your comments regarding the room furnishings as this is in our plan to refurbish in the next 18-24 months.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and the West Coast of the South Island again soon.

Warm regards,
Anthony Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Booked direct thru the hotel and had extremely helpful friendly service. Their accommodation ranges from budget to superior! Stayed two nights over long weekend in the Ocean View Wing, level 3 (the newest of the wings). Room was fabulous, spacious, exceptionally clean and modern! Beds great, with a range of pillows (although we brought our own, we needn't had). Shower only, although large, didn't have a strong water pressure but that may have been because we were down the end. No Sky TV. Rooms had great heating, although the corridor was rather chilly. Although a continental buffet breakfast was included in an exceptional price, we were able to choose anything from the breakfast menu. Eggs Benedict a favourite although the pancakes were fabulous (although huge!). Food generous, tasty and well presented. We are ex coasters from the 70's and have often gone back for a visit. This hotel will definitely see us return. Thank you!

Room Tip: Definitely Ocean View wing on the 2nd or 3rd floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IamPotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony M, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Hokitika, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Beachfront Hotel Hokitika.
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and it is a real pleasure when we receive such great feedback as yours!
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Anthony Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I have stayed here several times, always like it. Room is very roomy and comfortable. Ocean loud and wild. I was glad it was wet because there were smokers on either side. How does one get away from smoking in establishments? Pity there weren't whole areas of hotels set aside for them... Thanks Beachfront, always happy. Had taken my laptop but wasn't keen enough to pay for WiFi. Loved the local cinema!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 95nell13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony M, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Hokitika, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Beachfront Hotel Hokitika.
I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us always welcome such great feedback.
Thank you also for your particular feedback regarding the smoking on guest balconies - this enables us to make calculated decisions regarding the comfort of guests during their stay.
We also now offer 2 hours Free WIFI per room so please ask for this next time you stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm regards.

Anthony Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

One strange lift and you had to go outside to get to there restaurant which was a bit expensive especially for breakfast while you are outside turn into the high street and use the café for breakfast and the pub over the road for evening meals much cheaper and good service and food in both.

Room Tip: They have DVD players in room with no DVD'S to borrow or rent the TV picture was pretty poor so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimW333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony M, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Hokitika, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Tim,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Beachfront Hotel Hokitika.
The hotel lift is an unusual one and one that requires more signage on how to operate the button - thank you for this comment.
Our breakfast menu is very reasonably priced as a comparison to what you will pay in the majority of hotels today. I am sure you can appreciate with the huge increase in the cost of food over the past 12 months that we represent value for money with a wide range of options included.
I had purchased the DVD players to coincide with an agreement with the local Video Ezy shop that was across the road from the hotel. Unfortunately this has ceased trading and I will be purchasing a library for our guests to use.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future Tim.

Warm regards,

Anthony Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hokitika hotels
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
0.6 mi away
Fitzherbert Court Motel
Fitzherbert Court Motel
#9 of 10 in Hokitika
95 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#2 of 10 in Hokitika
264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jade Court Motor Lodge
Jade Court Motor Lodge
#5 of 10 in Hokitika
167 reviews
0.8 mi away
252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront Hotel Hokitika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront Hotel Hokitika

Address: 111 Revell Street, Hokitika 7810, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hokitika
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hokitika
Price Range: £74 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachfront Hotel Hokitika 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stunning Beachfront Hotel Hokitika located by the beach and in the central of Hokitika offering wide range of accommodation from 28 luxury, modern and spacious Ocean View Rooms overlooking Tasman Sea, to 23 newly refurbished Driftwood superior rooms to 2 & 3 bedroom suites or The Magnificent Penthouse. Newly refurbished Ocean View Restaurant with its sleek and contemporary design overlooking Tasman Sea offering daily breakfast, dinner (A La Carte, Buffet and Set Menu Options) Central location to Pancake rocks, Shantytown, Gold panning, art galleries featuring jade, wood, ruby rock, gold, glass, Fox and Franz Joseph Glaciers as well as numerous rainforest walks and cycle trails. * Free WIFI, * Free Parking, * Laundry service, * Bike storage, * Free Netflix (Only in Penthouse) * Bottle Store on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beachfront Hotel Hokitika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hokitika Beachfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing