We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for a lovely beach and sunset viewd”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hokitika
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location for a lovely beach and sunset viewd”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

We only stayed 1 night but we arrived early enough to have a nice walk on the beach. There were arts spread all over and it was magical. We dined at the restaurant with a nice sunset....excellent staff

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2014Emy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony M, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Hokitika, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay in January of this year at the Beachfront Hotel Hokitika.
I am thoroughly delighted that you had such a magical stay and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Anthony Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    193
    92
    54
    18
See reviews for
52
354
21
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
291 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Party of 9 Greymouth Rotarians attended a special function of the Hokitika Club. Had a very pleasant room set aside for our party. It was a set menu but the food was really good and great value for the money paid. Room was warm and comfortable and being a bit separate from the main restaurant and hotel meant there were no noises to divert attention from proceedings. There was a bar specifically for this area which meant people were served quickly. The only female toilet was a disabled person's one and the door did not feel very secure so the toilet is one area where there could be a bit of work done. There is plenty of parking space to the rear of the hotel and arriving just before dark meant the view of the beach and sea was still visible. Overall was a great evening.

Room Tip: Did not stay overnight so cannot comment on the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony M, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Hokitika, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Christine,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent Rotary function at the Beachfront Hotel Hokitika.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your night and the food was up to standard.
I thank you also for your comments regarding the ladies toilet - which we will look at and remedy.

Warm regards,

Anthony Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
129 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Keep this a secret - otherwise you won't get a room there next time you want to stay there - it will be all booked out!

Honestly, in little old Hokitika this hotel is so very good. Easy to book a room, pleasant and friendly reception staff. Helpful when you arrive. Rooms a good size, comfortable bed, beautiful view of the sea (if you're in Room 427). AND I know it sounds trivial - but the bathroom tile floor was heated. So good on a Winters morning. There is a balcony overlooking the sea.

If you want a view ensure you ask for a room facing the sea and is a second level room or higher. i would suggest a Room number starting with a 4....thats level 3.

Also, check out the Observation Room. Keep away from the restaurant - try over the road for Breakfast...I will review that next.

Room Tip: If you want a view ensure you ask for a room facing the sea and is a second level room or higher. i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony M, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Hokitika, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Martin,

Thank you very much for your taking the time to review your recent stay here at the Beachfront Hotel in Hokitika.
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the great comments regarding our service.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Anthony Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
232 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Have a room facing the ocean, and choose the third floor if you prefer the spectacular view, or the ground floor if you prefer to pop out of the window and jump into the sea in front of you. But be aware, the Pacific ocean can be hard. Located in the centre of the small town, at a walking distance from the nice museum and any shop. Very comfortable, wide rooms, excellent bathrooms good wine is ready in the fridge. The restaurant is very good, you can choose the breakfast that you like, and pay for what you eat.

Room Tip: rooms facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alfonso p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony M, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Hokitika, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Alfonso,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay in December 2013 at the Beachfront Hotel Hokitika.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your comments regarding the room and hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and West Coast in the near future.

Warm regards,

Anthony Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Okay, so there is really nothing in this town and this might be the nicest place to stay, it is an older property, rooms are not that quiet, beds can be replaced, wouldn't hurt to have an update in the rooms. However, the rooms right on the beach, are RIGHT ON THE BEACHFRONT! It is clean and the people are nice. Breakfast buffet was okay.

Room Tip: Make sure you have an oceanfront room. I wouldn't like to have any others
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HowieCanoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony M, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Hokitika, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay in July at the Beachfront Hotel Hokitika.
Thank you for your comments regarding the hotel as I always like to receive feedback whether positive or negative. It is disappointing that you did not find the wealth of things to do in Hokitika and the West Coast. Perhaps if there is a next time you are through we could suggest things to do and see here that might make your stay more enjoyable.

Warm regards,

Anthony Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here in March when we toured NZ. It was booked for us by Relaxing Journey as part of our independent tour. It was very conveniently located.The coach from Greymouth dropped us off in Hokitika.Just about a 40 minute trip, right in front of the Eco centre. The hotel was across the small road and it was convenient to drag our luggage across the parking area.To our delight we realized the super market was just next door. It was open from 8 to 8 every day of the week.
The entrance to the hotel is through a small door and a passage. No Problem.But it was easy to get to the new wing thru this. The people at the reception were very kind and helped us with a lot of details.Our room on the ground floor was very spacious and we loved the fact that there were these huge glass panels through which we could step on to a road and the ocean was right across. From the room 403 we could see a bit of the sea. Nevertheless we could walk across to the beach and enjoy the view.The room was comfy and clean. There was no kitchenette.No microwave but there was a kettle.It had wooden furniture ,2 sofas and 2 chairs.A hair dryer and iron were provided
We stayed for 2 nights. On the first evening we walked on the amazing beach which had pebbles as flat as cookies. The local driftwood festival had just got over ,i think 2 or 3 weeks before and the beach was literally 'littered' with many driftwood sculptures .Some were recognizable,some, the waves had washed away .And then ...we were treated to a glorious sunset.
The ocean seemed a little rough at night but it was a soothing sound and we slept well in the comfortable bed.We woke up to grey skies but in a short while a clear rainbow spanned across the sea. There was even a hint of a double rainbow! We took the lift to a higher floor where there was a lounge and had a panoramic view of the ocean. We were given free internet both days. It was enough for us to check our e mails and send a few. We were able to Skype.
There are innumerable cafes and shops close by. And the shops had some beautiful pounamu work.The second day was a sunday and we made a trip to the TreeTop walkway and the beautiful gorge As we didn't have a car we did the trip with LInda of Kea tours which was totally worth it. There is an interesting museum, NZ 5 per person.
Loved the cafes and eateries. Stumpers always seemed crowded but we managed to have lunch there one day and it was very tasty.The Cafe de Paris also had some delicious pies and paninis.The New World Supermarket close by stocks a good variety of meats and breads. The Traditional Jade shop has an amazing variety of carved pounamu.
Hokitika is worth stopping over as the craft shops are so good . One needs a little time to gaze and admire the workmanship of these artists.. whether it is pounamu, paintings, photographs. or paintings on stone.or metal work. And the Beachfront Hotel was a central place, with the added advantage of the proximity to the sea! The in- house restaurant looked good but we didn't eat there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SUNALINIRAMESH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony M, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Hokitika, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Sunaliniramesh,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay in March of this year at the Beachfront Hotel Hokitika.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the detailed comments regarding the hotel and also of Hokitika. It definitely adds value to travellers who have the ability to read reviews such as yours, about what to do and see in Hokitika.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to the West Coast and New Zealand.

Warm regards,

Anthony Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Beautiful room on the top floor with a gorgeous view practically on the beach. Room was modern, clean and warm too. Very peacefull spot but right in the middle of town so easy walking distance to everything.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PrincessEuropa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony M, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Hokitika, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Beachfront Hotel Hokitika.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the fantastic view from our Oceanview rooms.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm regards,

Anthony Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hokitika hotels
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
0.6 mi away
Fitzherbert Court Motel
Fitzherbert Court Motel
#8 of 9 in Hokitika
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#2 of 9 in Hokitika
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jade Court Motor Lodge
Jade Court Motor Lodge
#5 of 9 in Hokitika
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drifting Sands Beachfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront Hotel Hokitika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront Hotel Hokitika

Property: Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
Address: 111 Revell Street, Hokitika 7810, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hokitika
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hokitika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachfront Hotel Hokitika 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stunning Beachfront Hotel Hokitika located by the beach and in the central of Hokitika offering wide range of accommodation from 28 luxury, modern and spacious Ocean View Rooms overlooking Tasman Sea, to 23 newly refurbished Driftwood superior rooms to 2 & 3 bedroom suites or The Magnificent Penthouse. Newly refurbished Ocean View Restaurant with its sleek and contemporary design overlooking Tasman Sea offering daily breakfast, dinner (A La Carte, Buffet and Set Menu Options) Central location to Pancake rocks, Shantytown, Gold panning, art galleries featuring jade, wood, ruby rock, gold, glass, Fox and Franz Joseph Glaciers as well as numerous rainforest walks and cycle trails. * Free WIFI, * Free Parking, * Laundry service, * Bike storage, * Free Netflix (Only in Penthouse) * Bottle Store on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beachfront Hotel Hokitika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hokitika Beachfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing