We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shining Star Beach accom is a shining star...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Hokitika
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2013

After torrential rain through the Buller Gorge we finally arrived at Hokitika on the West Coast of NZ just on dusk after an uncomplicated trip from Picton. Richards Drive is the first street on the right off the main road and Shining Star is the first driveway after crossing the railway lines.
The log cabins right beside the beach are delightful, warm, snug and comfortable. Everything we needed was right there and the reception was equally warm and welcoming in such dour weather.
The rugged West Coast is exhilarating and the scenery wild and magnificent - especially the mountains after the heavy snowfall we experienced.
Shining Star Beach Cabins are a real treat and we have no hesitation in recommending them. We have stayed there twice now and plan to do so again when travelling down the coast to Wanaka.

Room Tip: Just tell the reception what size accom you require and she will see you right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiningStarHokitika, Owner at Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are pleased you enjoy staying with us on your long journey and look forward to hosting you next time you are through.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

325 - 331 of 621 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom log cabin. Unfortunately the weather packed up when we arrived. However the apartment was warm, master bedroom spacious, great shower, clean. Had a radio and a large tv (we started to judge accommodation on the size of the tv after a while!). Not sure how the price compared with other motels in the area ... it is expensive to travel as a family these days. Being close to the beach is nice, if you had more time to explore than we did. Being from the North Island we felt the need for more quilts on the beds, maybe more people prefer to sleep with the heaters on than we do. (This wasn't uncommon on our travels so I guess it might just be us!)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OutandAboutnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiningStarHokitika, Owner at Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Sorry the weather did not shine. We hope that you can return in the future to relax and explore.
We appreciate the time you have taken to write your review,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We stayed in a beach front unit. Really great views and super quiet. Not in the centre of town but it's a pleasant 10 minute stroll. Units were quite big & bed really comfy. This not luxury but above average budget stay. Overall, amazing value for money & a great place to chill.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Orla O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiningStarHokitika, Owner at Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback it is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We found this motel by chance and it was the first one on the seaside as you enter the village of Hokitika from the north. We had a cabin right on the beach with views of the sea. The cabin was one of 3 in a row and once inside you would not of known you had neighbours. There was everything you needed and the rooms were of a good size. The furnishings were a little tired but totally functional and although we were only staying one night would of happily spent more time there. The glow worm dell on the main road are well worth visiting and just a very short walk. We went just as darkness was falling and so watched the glow worms turn on which was lovely. All in all a very pleasant stay and I would not hesitate to go back here again. It is a little way out of the town and you need to drive in for a restaurant. We went to the supermarket and got some food in which suited us very well.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bedfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiningStarHokitika, Owner at Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience. The glow worms are beautiful and it is great to have them so close.
We hope you can visit us again when you are back down this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Great location on the beach well away from highway.
Attractive wooden lodges, well fitted out.
Full facilities.
A short drive to town centre.
Full cooking facilities and a good supermarket in the town make for easy self catering.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiningStarHokitika, Owner at Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope the rest of your holiday went well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Shining Star is located just north of Hokitiki and our unit was almost right on the beach. We arrived during a stormy period but we had some breaks in the weather which allowed us to visit a few places. One of these was the glow worms across the road - worth a visit at night. The owners/managers were very helpful - even changing a restaurant booking for me. I'm sure if I am back in the area I will be staying again. I hope there weather will be kinder next time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vic E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiningStarHokitika, Owner at Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

We hope the weather is better for your next stay too. The mountains look amazing on a clear day.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We were a group of four and found the one bedroom self-contained units at the Shining Star to be very cosy, comfortable and great for cooking your own food. The accommodation is situated approximately 2km from the town centre and overlooks a beautiful, rugged beach. We really enjoyed our stay and were very glad to spend three nights in Hokitika. Even though it was very quiet (almost no one out on the streets), the little town has a great vibe and is a nice place to relax.

Room Tip: The self-contained units with a kitchen are great for cooking your own, healthy meals! All necessary...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aggi_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiningStarHokitika, Owner at Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

We are pleased to hear you all had a relaxing time with us.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hokitika hotels
0.8 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
#4 of 10 in Hokitika
565 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
0.3 mi away
Fitzherbert Court Motel
Fitzherbert Court Motel
#9 of 10 in Hokitika
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Awatuna Homestead
Awatuna Homestead
#1 of 1 in Awatuna
56 reviews
1.1 mi away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#2 of 10 in Hokitika
264 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jade Court Motor Lodge
Jade Court Motor Lodge
#5 of 10 in Hokitika
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation

Address: 16 Richards Drive, Hokitika 7810, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hokitika
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hokitika
Price Range: £62 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shining Star Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
Best Western Hokitika
Hokitika Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing