We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the cost”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Hokitika
Certificate of Excellence
Fenton, Missouri
Level Contributor
174 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Worth the cost”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We booked a king beachfront cabin for the night of our 2nd anniversary during our 2 week trip to NZ. The room is a admittedly somewhat expsensive, but it's all about location. Our porch yielded a great view of the beach and the sea. We went into down to get takeaway dinner, moved our table and chairs in front of the sliding glass door (cold weather meant the porch was a no-go), and watched the sunset over the sea (with Scottish Highland cattle in the foreground)! We couldn't have asked for anything better - this stay was the best of our trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiningStarHokitika, Owner at Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased you enjoyed your special night with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    239
    65
    14
    3
See reviews for
148
329
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

It was a long day's travelling for us, 2 long flights and a drive from Christchurch to Hoki via Greymouth. We were tired and decided to stop for the night at Shining Star and shining star it was. The place exceeded our expectations by quite a margin. Clean bathroom with a nice shower, comfortable bed. It was just we were looking long day and the next day we were ready to move on to our next destination all refreshed and charged.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sashboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiningStarHokitika, Owner at Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Please to hear you were able to rest comfortably with us, revitalised and ready to continue your travels. Thank you for your positive feed back, we appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed in a self-contained cabin over Easter and found it adequate for our needs, albeit a bit cramped. The room has a bed, couch, small table and chairs and small kitchen facilities, with an ensuite bathroom. We thought maybe they could do without the couch, as we ended up using it to put our luggage on as there was nowhere else to put it, so couldn't sit on it anyway. We had a bit of a view of the beach, and the room had a nice wee porch - although we didn't sit on it as the weather was horrid over Easter. The farmyard animals were quite cool and would be awesome if travelling with kids. The glow worm grotto is about a 3 minute walk from the accommodation but, again, we didn't visit it due to the miserable weather. It was about a 3 minute drive to the shops and cafes. Clean and tidy and enough for what we needed, although nothing outstanding.

Room Tip: Maybe upgrade to the motel cabin, as they look to be slightly more spacious from the pictures on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rin007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, NZ
Level Contributor
94 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

A little overpriced but reasonably fitted out, and close to the beach.
The bed takes up much of the space available but three is a kitchen and small table.
Nice deck to sit on if the weathers ok, and good car parking.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jones499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Out your door you can walk to the beach. These log cabin accomodations are a bit dated. We had a room where the hobs did not work perhaps due to some power problem. Staff was helpful and tried to help us but we still were unable to cook. I cannot comment on other Hokitika lodging since this was our first stay. This may be the best that the city has to offer but other than the location it is nothing special.

Room Tip: Rooms near beach our best....caravan in the middle of the cabins.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank before75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Although we are only a year into owning a caravan, this holiday park/ caravan park has exceeded all earlier experiences. It is modern, well located and incredibly thoughtfully equipped. The amenities block, showers and toilet facilities are clean/ modern and everything we could hope for. We loved the little thoughtful touches, like the herb garden, BBQs, animal park and playground.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elgoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Vista, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We were at the end of our 3 week trip and this was a great ending before taking the train to Christchurch. The location is fabulous with sunsets to remember (if not raining). I only wish we had been there during penguin season! We did walk to the glow worm dell across the street and were amazed at such a great FREE sight!.

Room Tip: Beachfront are nice to hear the waves although you really can't see the beach well without leavi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mntraveler4648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hokitika
0.8 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
0.8 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
0.3 mi away
Fitzherbert Court Motel
Fitzherbert Court Motel
#8 of 9 in Hokitika
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Awatuna Homestead
Awatuna Homestead
#1 of 1 in Awatuna
53 reviews
1.1 mi away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#2 of 9 in Hokitika
257 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jade Court Motor Lodge
Jade Court Motor Lodge
#5 of 9 in Hokitika
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation

Property: Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
Address: 16 Richards Drive, Hokitika 7810, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Hokitika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shining Star Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
Best Western Hokitika
Hokitika Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing