We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A log cabin experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Hokitika
Certificate of Excellence
Denby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A log cabin experience”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed for one night during our journey down the west coast. Very attractive log cabin, with good facilities although as a winter visitor, it would have been helpful if the heater had been put on a few hours before we arrived, as it took a long time before it felt comfortably warm. I imagine this would be an excellent spring/summer holiday venue. Handy for the glow worm dell just across the road. Short journey south to Hokitika or north to Punakaiki Pancake Rocks.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank johnwroden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiningStarHokitika, Owner at Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for your review.
We do turn heaters on for guest around 4pm in the winter but you arrived prior to this. We hope you enjoyed the rest of the South Island and all its beautiful winter scenery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    248
    70
    14
    3
See reviews for
154
340
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Our room was so big. Reasonable price and nice location. Not far from town. A feel step from our room to the beach. Living room and kitchen was so big, comfortable and have everything you want. Staffs were also very friendly and helpful. We might stay here next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thanya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiningStarHokitika, Owner at Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We got the last unit available, an efficiency cabin between a small children’s farmyard and the highway. The unit, actually a duplex, was small with a large sliding glass door, which let in quite a bit of a light and gave the wee cabin an airy feel. The kitchen area was minimal but suited our needs. The cabin does include a small table but there was not a lot of space to accommodate luggage or other bags, if that is concern. The front porch, though, was large enough to sit and enjoy the sights. The property, including the cabin and laundry room, was clean and well maintained. The beach entrance was a short walk, and the glowworm caves, right across the highway, gave us easy access. Overall, this is a great place to stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mallory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiningStarHokitika, Owner at Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for your review and recommendation. We do appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Wasn't sure what to expect with this accommodation but loved it. We booked a king chalet-beach front. It was a great night to be in a log cabin with torrential rain and pounding surf. The chalet was a good size for two with an adequate kitchen and small bathroom. All heating worked well. Couple of bulls in the paddock between us and the beach but can't have everything! Bed very comfortable and full credit to the place....free WiFi, well done. This alone gets points and something some of the more expensive places should take note of.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiningStarHokitika, Owner at Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Tucked up in a log cabin on a stormy night. Sounds like a great way to spend a night.
Thank you for the review and comments regarding the free WIFI. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We only stayed one night here but it was very comfortable and had everything we needed to cook our own meals. King beachfront chalet is plenty large enough for a couple, beach was right outside our door. Porch wasn't too private but hey, it's a big place with lots of rooms. We enjoyed the walk among the farm animals and it was close to local attractions. All around best bet for the area.

Room Tip: King beachfront chalet was just right for us, two seniors on a 22 driving tour of New Zealand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RainbowPhotoTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiningStarHokitika, Owner at Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope the rest of your road trip went well.
Thank you for taking the time to share.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaiapoi
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We have just had another short stay at Shining star. We stayed in a beach front studio king unit. The unit clean and well equipped with enough room for the two of us plus a small deck looking out towards the beach which is just a few minutes walk away. Add in some spacious grounds and some rather large pets and you have the perfect place for a stay over.
Probably top end price wise, but we think it's worth it

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiningStarHokitika, Owner at Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Love the picture of Lachlan - he certainly is getting big. Pleased you enjoyed your stay again. Until next time...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed in one of the Shining S
tar Beach Front Cabins while on business. It was so clean and tidy, quiet and had everything I needed for business travel, yet made me feel at home and very relaxed after a big day on the road working. The outlook was amazing, great walks out the front of the cabins. Friendly helpful staff. would definitely recommend this to tourists, families and business travelers. Could not get a better place to stay in Hokitika!

Room Tip: If your budget allows definitely go for the Beach Front cabins they are well worth it and very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiningStarHokitika, Owner at Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your generous review. At home and relaxed is how we like our guests to feel - pleased you did.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hokitika
0.8 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
0.8 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
0.3 mi away
Fitzherbert Court Motel
Fitzherbert Court Motel
#8 of 9 in Hokitika
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Awatuna Homestead
Awatuna Homestead
#1 of 1 in Awatuna
55 reviews
1.1 mi away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#2 of 9 in Hokitika
264 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jade Court Motor Lodge
Jade Court Motor Lodge
#5 of 9 in Hokitika
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation

Property: Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
Address: 16 Richards Drive, Hokitika 7810, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Hokitika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shining Star Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
Best Western Hokitika
Hokitika Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing