We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Ranked #5 of 32 things to do in Hokitika
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We were prepared for sand flies and so was worth carrying inset repellant around. If it was not for the rain we would go in the water. We saw people jet boating and swimming in the lake. A place for family outing.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aenyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    30
    10
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Beautiful Lake”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

wonderful Lake with plenty of spots to stop and enjoy. Dorothy Falls was a wonderful waterfall really beautiful

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank shonakay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mountain bike ride around lake ”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

We did the loop of lake on MTB great ride very hard for last 5k expert hard lots of pushing & a bit of carrying up the hill but so worth it it took us 2hrs 50 mins that's 11k 1 way. And only 40 mins the other down the gravel road & 11k. We also had done the blue spur MTB trails that morning so I was a bit stuffed

Helpful?
1 Thank Toniioverend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A nice drive and a remote lake”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We drive from Hokitika gorge to the village near lake mouth via the unsealed road on the north shore. The lake is peaceful and lovely. We bypassed the Dorothy waterfall. You know, after a trip to Foirdland, there is not much to see on waterfalls. There is a play ground at the lake front. My daughter is fond of the place for she can feed some paradise there. It is also a good picnic place. But this place is not worth a overnight stay.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice Drive”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We drove around the north and west sides after visiting Hokitika Gorge. Although part of the road (to the north) was unsealed it was worth the journey

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SueMM186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Kaniere Scenic Reserve also viewed

Hokitika, West Coast Region
 
Hokitika, West Coast Region
Hokitika, West Coast Region
 

Been to Lake Kaniere Scenic Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing