We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JADE FROM STONE TO FINISHED ITEMS”
Review of Mountain Jade

Mountain Jade
Ranked #7 of 15 Shopping in Hokitika
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: No trip to New Zealand is complete without seeing New Zealand's premier Jade Carving studio and shop, at Mountain Jade. Come and see our carvers at work creating beautiful pieces of art and discover the mystical qualities of jade. Carving Tours: Showing the art of carving, and the process the stone goes through prior to it being carved. Opportunity to talk to the carvers themselves. Tour times by arrangement This is a Free of Charge activity.
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
710 reviews
394 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
“JADE FROM STONE TO FINISHED ITEMS”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The free guided tour was most interesting. It included some background information about the various sources and types of jade and you are able to see people working the jade from the raw material to the finished article. The shop has a wide range of goods. There is a café attached.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    23
    8
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just a shop.....”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Nice to browse round. Possibly a good place to go if you are after jade as a gift. I wouldn't make a huge detour just to visit. Interesting to wonder through the area where they are shaping the stones.....

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Lots of Jade to choose from”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Mountain Jade was on our list of must go places when we toured New Zealand and was not disappointed. The store has lots of choices in many price ranges. Take the time, go on the tour offered, watch the carvers and become educated before shopping.
From our tour, we learned that New Zealand Jade is not mined, but the pieces wash down waterways, in rocky areas and are found and sold by persons who spend time looking for it or happen upon it. Hense the increased price of NZ Jade.
The carvers use Jade from many countries and become aware that when it says "Made in New Zealand" does not mean the jade is New Zealand Jade - these pieces are clearly marked or ask the helpful staff if unsure.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank panbk4g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Friendly no hassle staff and lots of interesting info”
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

The lady in the room where the carving happens was friendly and clearly enjoys sharing her knowledge.
There was no hard sell and lots of educational info.

Helpful?
Thank LagoNexus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
Level Contributor
93 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“one of the biggest tourist rip-off in town”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Bought a pendant in their store, found the same design on their OWN website 100NZD cheaper, and that's even before the 15% GST. I do like my purchase, and I understand each piece is different. But unless it's a different grade of gem stone altogether, I don't see why it's worth so much more in store! Not a good feeling. And it seems to be the case across the west coast stores. Tourists are pretty much seen the same as their white bait: seasonal and catch them while you can!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SOONSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mountain Jade also viewed

Hokitika, West Coast Region
Hokitika, West Coast Region
 
Hokitika, West Coast Region
Hokitika, West Coast Region
 

Been to Mountain Jade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing