We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is worth it to see a Kiwi”

National Kiwi Centre
Ranked #7 of 33 things to do in Hokitika
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to The National Kiwi Centre The National Kiwi Centre is situated in the heart of Hokitika in an undercover facility that provides viewing of kiwi in our nocturnal house that replicates their natural environment. During your visit you can take part in feeding the giant eels (10am, 12 noon and 3pm daily). The eels are approximately 85 to 100 years old. After the Eel feedings you can see the Kiwi being feed. view the tuatara, New Zealands oldest living dinosaur. Try your hand at catch and release crawly fishing fun for all ages . We have lots of other fish and creatures to look at. And it's all inside so no getting wet on that rainy day
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“It is worth it to see a Kiwi”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is a very run down little "zoo" but the giant eels and the 2 kiwi are worth seeing.

The kiwis only seem to appear at feeding time so make sure that you arrive then. It's hard to see them through the gloomy lighting but it was our only chance to see the NZ native bird and we are glad we did.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank EssexRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    63
    26
    15
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Kiwi encounters”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This place was working through a bit of a revamp while we were there but still good value for money and interesting for the kids. Really interactive with trying to find everything. The giant eels here are amazing and it has an awesome kiwi enclosure that guarantees being able to see our native bird. Certainly worth a visit with the kids. The good thing is the pass can be used throughout the weekend if you want to go back and look later or go back for feeding sessions.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marcia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Kiwi!!!!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We were hold that it's very unlikely to see a kiwi in the wild as they are nocturnal but also that the population is being decimated by predators. This is why places like this should be encouraged. The kiwi looked to be in a decent habitat. We were thrilled to actually see her. Fascinating.
We had been asked to be quiet and did apart from a lady who spoke to her mother and was shushed by the "keeper". He had a perfectly valid point but when we stood in the dark watching the kiwi the noise from the employees talking in the reception area was louder than any that had been generated by the visitors. There seems to be only a curtain separating the reception area from the kiwi viewing area so either a rethink is necessary or else reception staff should follow their own rules re keeping the noise down. The rest of the facility was interesting too with some of the biggest eels I have ever seen.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Northerntraveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Holiday 2014”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This was a great place to visit. We fed the huge eels and saw a Kiwi. There are many `things` to see and lots of information about the wildlife.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Airport
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Had not seen a live Kiwi, it was great to see 2, even if on other side of glass. But was able to watch them eat!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Kiwi Centre also viewed

Hokitika, West Coast Region
 
Hokitika, West Coast Region
Hokitika, West Coast Region
 

Been to National Kiwi Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing