We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well priced and well located for town centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Hokitika
Reviewed 1 May 2014

These are lovely rooms that are close to town and good value. I would stay here again.
Only a 5 minute stroll to the information centre, so you can easily plan your days in the region. The owners were lovely and friendly. I had no issue with truck noise when sleeping, however being on the ground floor I was woken very early (before 7am) by the people above us, but what I can only assume was dragging chairs/furniture across an un-carpeted surface. It might be something that the owners would look into (we stayed in room 1, the first of the disabled ones). But the rooms are lovely and tidy, I would stay again if in Hokitika (just upstairs).

Room Tip: Probably to get one on the first floor. Then you don't have the noise of people above you.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bosha_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

A very big thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor, your comments about our rooms and our great location are appreciated. We are sorry the guests above you woke you so early in the morning, we will try to address this concern by asking guests checking in to upstairs units to respect guests below them.

Kind regards
Gary and Glenys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
There are newer reviews for Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

Good price for a clean and comfortable room. Very minimal traffic noise (its on the main road)
So very handy to town... a few minutes walk and you are there. 5 minutes walk to the coast where we saw a lovely West Coast sunset.

Room Tip: Have stayed at a couple of Bella Vista motel over the years and have not been able to fault them
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thermalbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

We really appreciate your comments in your review, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. So glad you enjoyed your stay at our motel and in Hokitika. Hope to see you again when you next visit The West Coast.

Regards
Gary and Glenys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Really helpful staff on arrival. Lovely hotel, very clean rooms, very well equipped, beds very comfortable. Lots of options around to get food. Lots of restaurants. Walk along the beach is very nice. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drucey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Hi, we really appreciate your positive comments, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay at our motel and in our town. We hope you had a wonderful time touring round New Zealand. All the best to you both.

Regards
Gary and Glenys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the balla vista for 1 night the room was clean and tidy
We were close enough to walk into town for dinner which was great after driving all day . We thought that it might be noisy on the main highway but didnt hear the trucks once inside .Definitely would stay again

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Many thanks for writing a review about your stay with us, we appreciate your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your night and hope you had a great holiday in New Zealand.

Regards
Gary and Glenys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Wasn't a fan of Hokitika but this hotel was really good for the price. Roomy and comfortable, little area to make food etc and good sized bathroom, good place to relax after a walk along the beach and through the town.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thanks a heap for your great comments regarding your stay with us, so pleased you were happy with your accommodation, Trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in our wonderful country.

Thanks again,
Gary and Glenys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I would have loved to have given this motel an "excellent" rating.
The welcome when we arrived was great, and the room was immaculately clean. It was nice too to see the effort made to avoid wasting electricity - the first place I have been where the TV was switched off at the wall.
However, the location is such that, certainly in the upstairs room that we had, the road noise detracts from what otherwise would have been a perfect motel for a light sleeper such as myself.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Your wonderful comments are really appreciated, thanks very much for taking the time to write a review. We try very hard to ensure guests enjoy their stay at our motel. We do offer ear plugs to guests if they are concerned about road noise and are light sleepers. Hope to see you again if you are ever in Hokitika.

Regards
Gary and Glenys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Our trip to Hokitika was very short and this was our first experience of a Bella Vista Motel so we were keen to see how that would go as we had a number of Bella Vistas booked in destinations to come. Hokitika set a really high standard for us and were really impressed with the quality of the accommodation and helpfulness of the hosts. We had a lovely meal in Stumpers and were really glad we took our host's recommendation to book ahead for the evening as it was really busy! Food was excellent and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room on an upper floor and that's what we got. No complaints there then!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

We are so pleased you had a great time in Hokitika, glad you had an enjoyable stay at our motel and a great meal at Stumpers. Many thanks for writing a review on Trip Advisor and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in New Zealand.

Kind regards
Gary and Glenys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hokitika hotels
0.2 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
#4 of 10 in Hokitika
560 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fitzherbert Court Motel
Fitzherbert Court Motel
#9 of 10 in Hokitika
92 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#2 of 10 in Hokitika
264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jade Court Motor Lodge
Jade Court Motor Lodge
#5 of 10 in Hokitika
164 reviews
0.8 mi away
252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel Hokitika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Hokitika

Address: 52 Fitzherbert Street, Hokitika, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Hokitika
Price Range: £57 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel Hokitika 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Hokitika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing