We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but should be better”
Review of Stations Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stations Inn
Ranked #16 of 17 Hokitika B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Stations Inn is situated on the hill a few kilometres out of the town. It is a lovely quiet location but not walking distance. The rooms are very comfortable and large and laid out in a motel style. Each opens out onto a terrace with a couple of chairs and table. The terrace is not segregated so if you want quiet seclusion you won't necessarily get it if other guests are sat out at the same time.
I have based the Average rating based on the price. We stayed at a lot of places in New Zealand on this trip and Stations Inn was the most expensive so should have been the best. It wasn't and so gets marked accordingly. The main points where it under-performed are -
It was the only place;
without complimentary toiletries
where we weren't shown in person to our room
where the wi-fi wasn't working
where there was no cafetiere and ground coffee. Instead there were coffee bags
where there was no complimentary snack on arrival (most places gave us a muffin or similar)
The breakfast is provided the night before in to the room. It was OK but certainly not lavish. There was muesli but no additional milk (you get a 300ml bottle when you arrive for teas and coffees)
We didn't eat in the restaurant but looked at the menu. We ate in some great places in NZ and this menu was the most expensive we saw. No doubt it's good but be prepared to pay for it. We preferred instead to take Lonely Planet's suggestion and watch the sunset at the point with takeaway fish and chips which was superb.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mahonia100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2013

Without a moon, Stations Inn offers one of the best of NZ's night skies, complete with shooting stars, but before that is a spectacular sunset off your deck, looking out over Hokitika. The property is spacious, you may share the view area with a white llama, next to a water wheel accented pond. Rooms are all well appointed, look like new because this stop is cared for with pride. Do not expect the office to be open, but just poke around in the restaurant, or on the property, and you will locate the owners soon enough. Expect relaxation, good food at the restaurant should you choose to eat there, and above all, enjoy all the local crafts in downtown Hokitika. This is not a business stop, slow down, stay 2 nights if you reach Hokitika after 4pm, and soak up the quiet life.

Room Tip: All rooms have a deck next to the well kept grass area; the rooms closer to the restaurant may have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

My partner and I had dinner at Stations Inn and were so disappointed after hearing so many good things. The meals were all over priced and two out of four items we ordered were horrible. My partner did really enjoy the Steak, but at $43 dollars it wasn't what you would expect. Better off with some of the cheaper simpler options in town. Service was good, but with only one other table of customers in the restaurant it wasn't amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank ebeebarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

It's not easy to find, but it's worth the effort to get to the Station Inn located in the hills overlooking Hokitika and West Coast. The rooms are spacious, warm and well appointed. Views are great but the best thing is the restaurant. If you're sick of the rich, overly flavoured, fussily presented food often found when you are travelling, you'll love the simple but excellently cooked and freshly flavoured food at this restaurant. "Award winning" means just really great, unpretentious food cooked as New Zealand's amazing fresh ingredients deserve.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HLHAbeltas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We just had a wonderful dinner at the Stations Inn in Hokitika.

Although we had to wait 30 Min. for our meal to come, every minute was worth it.
All three meals were set very nicely. The chicken, the fish and the beef were cooked fresh and perfectly in every way and we loved the desert.

The restaurant is charming and elegant and has a fire place in the lounge which is near to the bar, you could really see the effort put into this restaurant.
We enjoyed the more quite, and elegant atmosphere at the Stations Inn restaurant after eating out in the busy and noisy restaurant in the city centre the night before.

The owner went by every table to greet the restaurant guests, to have a short conversation and to ensure that the guests enjoyed their stay.
A positive and very good fact is that the Stations Inn has only a small menu hence the cook really knows how to cook the meals.

Having a dinner in the Stations Inn is def. a "must-do" in Hokitika and go there at around sunset to enjoy the beautiful view.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gfelwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

After a long, beautiful land & ocean drive from Abel Tasman to Hokitika ( 4 ½ or more hours) we finally found Stations Inn. We made the mistake of turning on Blue Spur Rd. before we even arrived in Hokitika because our GPS couldn’t even recognize Blue Spur Rd. So we took it figuring we out smarted our GPS. NOT. It would have been easier to head into the town of Hokitka and turn left on Hampden to Hau Hau Rd. right to Stations Inn. Located in a pretty area that overlooks an Alpaca farm with the ocean beyond. The surrounding grounds look like a groomed golf course. Lovely! A quick check in at the beautiful restaurant and we were one of the two units being rented. They seem very new and are beautifully, contemporary designed with a classy (king size) bedspread, nice carpeting/tile, wall heater for the cooler evening, flat screen TV and kitchenette. We appreciated the free washing machine and a minimal cost for Wifi. We definitely would recommend Stations Inn. We wish we hadn’t eaten dinner before arriving here because the restaurant looked very inviting and had lots of awards.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sxmbeachlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

modern and spacious, we spent a very relaxing afternoon on a very comfortable sofa with a book and a bottle of wine watching the weather and the alpacas next door, which is about as exciting as it gets in Hokitika. Unfortunately the restaurant isn't open every day so we hit the local supermarket and had a carpet picnic instead.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jumbobelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hokitika hotels
2.4 mi away
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
6.6 mi away
Awatuna Homestead
Awatuna Homestead
#1 of 1 in Awatuna
63 reviews
2.8 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
#4 of 10 in Hokitika
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Jade Court Motor Lodge
Jade Court Motor Lodge
#5 of 10 in Hokitika
175 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
2.4 mi away
Fitzherbert Court Motel
Fitzherbert Court Motel
#9 of 10 in Hokitika
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stations Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stations Inn

Address: Blue Spur Road, Hokitika, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Hokitika
Price Range: £63 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stations Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Stations Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing