We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Teichelmann's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 17 Hokitika B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

It was our last night of a two-week trip to New Zealand. Frances and Brian were wonderful hosts and pointed us to some great shopping down the road. Hokitika is such a funny place, but we loved it and Teichelman's is definitely the place to stay.

Room Tip: We got the cottage out back -
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
There are newer reviews for Teichelmann's Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

Frances and Brian are great hosts. We were treated to shortcakes, tea and wine when we arrived and had a great chat with them. This place has a lot of character, feels like a museum. Very pretty garden too!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judyleepeishan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Thanks to Frances and Brian for making our West Coast sojourn so enjoyable. Teichelmann's was a haven, and right across the road from the Museum and around the corner from The French Cafe. When we arrived, Frances gave us a choice of which room we'd like, and offered us the cottage. It was perfect in every way. We spent four days in Hokitika doing family research, walking and discovering. Coming back to the cottage at the end of the day was bliss. As others have said, Frances and Brian are extremely helpful and friendly - but don't overdo the familiarity. Highly recommended!
Rosemary & Andrew Penman
Sydney

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed at Teichelmann's back in December and found it a great little place to stay if you're heading through Hoki. It's as clean and comfortable as you'd hope for (with definite echoes of a typical English B&B) but it's Frances and Brian who really make the place what it is - lovely, friendly people with great knowledge of the area and a real passion for its history (this extends to an uncanny resemblance to Dr Teichelmann himself in Brian's case!). What's more, they both seemed like they loved what they do and actually enjoy having guests in their home, which isn't always the case!

Thanks Frances and Brian, you helped to make our honeymoon 'sweet as'.

Tom and Frances

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tom020681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

A welcome with tea as we arrived was just the start of a nice stay here. Brian has a lot of knowledge about the town, it's history and the local restaurants and is happy to share this! The room was clean and comfortable. Hokitika is well worth a visit and makes a perfect stopover on the way down the West Coast and this fine historic house is a good choice to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claptonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We spent just one night here, arriving in the late afternoon and leaving after breakfast, but it was a great spot. It's a pretty typical, New England-style B&B with very comfortable and clean rooms. Frances and Brian are great hosts and the breakfast was very good. They also made a great recommendation of fish and chips at Dulcie's which were a highlight. I'd definitely recommend Teichelmann's .

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank traveler2014580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Then be sure to stay here! These folks know their town inside out and will be happy to share that information with you over tea and cookies when you arrive, or any time you come up with a question. Everything was spotless and the breakfast was delicious.

Room Tip: Any room will be fine.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjdrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hokitika hotels
0.1 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
#3 of 10 in Hokitika
560 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
0.5 mi away
Drifting Sands Beachfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
0.3 mi away
Jade Court Motor Lodge
Jade Court Motor Lodge
#5 of 10 in Hokitika
164 reviews
0.8 mi away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#2 of 10 in Hokitika
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teichelmann's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teichelmann's Bed & Breakfast

Address: 20 Hamilton Street | Hokitika Central, Hokitika 7810, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Hokitika
Price Range: £73 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Teichelmann's Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'History . . . With a Touch of Class'. Historic home centrally located in the heritage area of Hokitika. Comfortable en-suite rooms with king and queen beds. Separate guest lounge. A short walk to restaurants, cafes, interesting craft galleries and the wild romantic beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Teichelmann's Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing