We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best nights sleep in New Zealand!”
Review of Birdsong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Birdsong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We arrived at the Birdsong hostel in the dark and pouring rain after a tiring drive from Kaikoura and were warmly welcomed by the owner Neil. We stayed in the penguin room which was a spacious ensuite room with a fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. The kitchen/communal room were well equipped and warm with a cosy wood stove and rack of hot water bottles for use by guests! However without doubt the best feature of this hostel was climbing into bed and realising there was an electric blanket on the bed! We stayed in 7 YHA hostels during our time on the South Island and our best nights sleep was definitely had in hokitika! Wifi would have been a bonus but no harm in a quiet evening spent playing cards and chatting rather than on Facebook! Great cosy stopover between the en route to the glaciers, the hostel is a credit to you Neil!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birdsongbackpackers, Manager at Birdsong, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed your time here. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayded in a double room, which had its own kitchen. Room was clean and nice and we were able to park the car right next to our room. Only downside was that we had reservation for a sea view-room, but the sea was behind a tall bushfence, big road and about 100 meters of grass, so we were nowhere near to see the sea from our room.

The stuff was extremely friendly, we got some fruits from their tree and they helped us a lot. Great place to stop for one night between glasiers and north.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annika E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birdsongbackpackers, Manager at Birdsong, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Sorry to hear that you did not get the upstairs room which you booked. Please email or telephone us in advance next trip, we will ensure you get the room with private balcony and ocean views, hopefully with a beautiful sunset and a complimentary fresh baked afternoon tea!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

- Far from the city
- No free wifi
- Friendly staff
- Free bikes
- Good beds
- Clean
- Small hostel
- Enough equipement in the kitchen
- A bit boring for the young travelers, good for the older ones
- Stayed 1 night
- I won't be here again

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jur25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birdsongbackpackers, Owner at Birdsong, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thanks for your review which though mixed, made me smile : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

My sister and I stayed for 1 night while driving from Christchurch to Franz Josef. This place is just outside hokitika town on the Kumara highway. You can't miss it! Its 5 mins drive to town and 1 mins drive to the glow worm dell. We were welcomed warmly by the owner Neil who showed us around the hostel. We saw that everything was well maintained.

We stayed in the oystercatcher room which was a double room on the 1st floor with sea view. It was Super clean and big enough for the 2 of us. There was a stuffed seal to welcome us on the bed! 2 large towels were provided. They have 2 bathrooms in total. One on the ground floor and one on the first floor. There were 2 sets of stove in the kitchen. The kitchen was very clean and well equipped! We cooked dinner there and had a Great time. There was a Hair dryer and a heater in the bathroom. They even provided hot water bags for guests to borrow! So warm! we didn't use the BBQ area Or the bushman bath as it was raining. The car park was a little tight when full and it took some skills to get our car out.

We drove out to the glow worm dell at night. It was pitch black and a little scary as we were the only one there. We got to see the glow worms though... there were hundreds of them!!!!!!

Hokitika is a cool little seaside town. There was a New World supermarket and a four square grocery store. The sunset at hokitika beach was stunning!!!

We think birdsong is nice backpacker with a lot of heart! Would not hesitate to recommend to others who are backpacking!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank beeleeburu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birdsongbackpackers, Owner at Birdsong, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

It is heart-warming to read your positve feedback. we are pleased you really enjoyed our hostel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel - it's clean with a homely touch to it, the view of the sunset from the dining area is amazing and the hosts are extremely friendly. Enough reasons for me to stay a night longer than planned!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerstin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birdsongbackpackers, Owner at Birdsong, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thanks for the review. We have been treated to some really amazing sunsets this autumn! Hope you can return some day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We had a very enjoyable stay at this hostel. Really nice and clean, charmingly furnished with bird-themed artwork throughout. After a week of camping and long day's drive from Golden Bay, this hostel really was just the ticket! I only wish that we'd stayed more than one night because I would have loved to have had a 'Bushman's Bath' but it was all booked out that evening! Our host, Neil, was very pleasant and helpful. We arrived late at night and he was happy to leave the key out for us.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katherineann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birdsongbackpackers, Owner at Birdsong, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Many thanks for the positive review. We hope that you will stay longer next time to explore the local walks and bike trails before finally relaxing in the outdoor baths..... they seem to be very popular since the new Wilderness Cycle Trail!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Neil, our host, was lovely. The backpackers is in a great location, a bit noisy because it's on the highway. We got the last room available as we had not booked ahead so were grateful for the bed although didn't appreciate having to go outside to get to the loo. I was unfortunate enough to get attacked by a feral kitten that had hidden under our bed but then again I shouldn't have tried to pick the damn thing up! The bed was quite comfortable and after visiting the glow worms up the road and a few beers at the local hotel we slept OK. Thanks again Neil!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birdsongbackpackers, Owner at Birdsong, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

We are sorry to learn about the kitten episode and will certainly be keeping an eye out... Next time you visit please call us ahead and we will happily accommodate you in your first choice of room type (minus any real animals!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hokitika hotels
1.5 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
#4 of 10 in Hokitika
565 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
0.9 mi away
Fitzherbert Court Motel
Fitzherbert Court Motel
#9 of 10 in Hokitika
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
1.1 mi away
Drifting Sands Beachfront Accommodation
1.6 mi away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#2 of 10 in Hokitika
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birdsong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birdsong

Address: 124 Kumara Junction Highway | Two Mile, Hokitika 7882, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Hokitika
Price Range: £47 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Birdsong backpacker is a family run native bird themed backpackers 2 kms north of Hokitika. Enjoy sea views and sunsets we look forward to meeting you so come relax and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Birdsong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing