We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Hokitika
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We have stayed at this Motel on numerous occasions and Brian and Adele's friendly attitude and excellent accommodation has always been a favourite. We have a dog who has always been welcome at the Motel. It is difficult to find good pet friendly accommodation in New Zealand but this one is tops of the list.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankee55, Owner at 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thanks Jane glad you enjoy it here and its not hard to accommodate nice people and their well behaved pets. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

like
- friendly staff
- locate in the city center
- next to grow worm cave
- warm bedroom
- small kitchen, but full cooking equipment
- great view

don't like
- The bathroom's door couldn't open sometime.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eakkapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankee55, Owner at 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your kind review we appreciate it very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Friendly welcome. Tidy motels with plenty of parking. We liked the fact that the living area was a good size for a two bedroom motel as we had stayed in one in greymouth that couldn't fit the six of us in the living area. Kitchen was a bit small but well equipped. Lovely quiet spot with beach very handy which the kids loved. We had done the wilderness trail on our bikes and they happily stored our bikes securely which was great.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankee55, Owner at 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thanks for leaving a review of our motel we appreciate you kind words and glad you enjoyed the West Coast Wilderness Trail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

On arrival Brian was very friendly and knowledgable about the local area and made lots of helpful suggestions. We did not however realise until after checking in that the camper van site was basically a car park with no views despite the beautiful beach being a stones throw away. The communal eating area was practically opposite our pitch and people started chatting loudly over breakfast at 06.30! Whilst Hokitika is well placed for local activities this site was not for us, but had free wifi which was welcomed.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank river_tigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankee55, Owner at 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Sorry you had a noisy experience here at our Campervan Park it is small and some people have no idea they are making so much noise. Yes it is a compact hard stand site but when we have a heavy rain shower here on the west coast it is a blessing as the water drains very quickly and there are no broken bones from people slipping on wet grass. We are called Beachside Motels and are very clear in our advertising that we are adjacent to the beach but have no beach views so am sorry you were disappointed with our little patch but had you come back to the office and told us you were unhappy we would have gladly refunded your camp fee. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review it clarifys things for other travellers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I told the truth to Brian about my miniature fox terrier sleeping with me and asked if that was acceptable to which he said yes but don't tell my wife. I offered to bring sheets and he said not to as the sheets weren't theirs and they were laundered. I asked again was he sure it would be ok and he said yes. I phoned again from Christchurch to say I would be late and he was most pleasant. On arrival Adele said Brian told her about the dog sleeping with me and I was not allowed a motel under these circumstances. Adele said it was disgusting to sleep with dogs plus more comments.I was stunned by her rudeness. I didn't argue or make a scene. This was my first trip back to the coast since my husband passed away who was a Coaster. I live in Picton and I was a long way from home. This shattered me and I am still upset.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Toodles9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adele D, Owner at 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Brian and I are very distressed by this review that you have left. We agree that Brian (who by the way was sympathetic to your story of your husbands death and that you were coming over with your dog who was with your husband when he died your story left him feeling sorry for you and this was his mistake - he was thinking with his heart not his head when he said the dog could sleep with you. It wasnt until Brian told me of your intentions that he realized his error of judgement and by then it was too late to contact you. When you arrived I suggested that yes by all means stay - either leave the dog in the car or make a bed up on the floor and your reply was "I cant gaurantee that" - that was what ended our discussion - you left me absolutely no option. I never once said and I repeat never said that sleeping with your dog is disgusting so please lets clear that up. I felt sorry for you - you are obviously grieving for your husband and you love your dog as a child I understand that but this is our livelihood and yes we are pet friendly but with rules and you made the decision not to abide by the rules. I hope in the future you can look back on this and put yourself in our position - your are welcome and your dog anytime as long as you bring its bed or leave it in the car. We have had many happy travellers who have done just that and enjoyed their time at 252 Beachside - one rule for all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This small town has few hotels, arriving in the evening, not easy to find vacancy. We were lucky, when we want to the hotel, the owner was receiving a cancellation call and he gave us the room. Guided us for the local tour.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rangassamy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankee55, Owner at 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our motel. Glad you enjoyed our Cool Little Town of Hokitika.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I stayed here with my wife around a month ago, just for one night. We stayed in the budget studio. The room was cheap and basic. But not in a bad way - it was the cheapest place we stayed on our trip, and this was reflected in the facilities and decor, but it was absolutely fine. It was spotlessly clean and quiet - we slept very well, which was what we needed after some long driving. Brian was very helpful pointing out places to visit in the local area. It's also very close to the sea, and an area with glow worms.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mobciral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankee55, Owner at 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thanks for the review on our budget studio, actually a lot of people like that room even though its not our best it is very quiet and comfortable in there with a good shower flat screen tv on the wall so you can lie in bed and enjoy your programme. Cooking facilities limited but you can cook a basic meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hokitika hotels
0.8 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
#4 of 10 in Hokitika
601 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
0.3 mi away
Fitzherbert Court Motel
Fitzherbert Court Motel
#9 of 10 in Hokitika
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Awatuna Homestead
Awatuna Homestead
#1 of 1 in Awatuna
64 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mountain Jade Backpackers
Mountain Jade Backpackers
#8 of 10 in Hokitika
87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park

Address: 252 Revell Street, Hokitika 7810, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Hokitika
Price Range: £69 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the beach in a quiet location. 4 Cottages with full kitchens sleep 4. Large group/family units sleep 5 or 6. These units have a full kitchen and open out into an enclosed garden area with childrens playground and BBQ facing west its lovely to relax here at the end of a day. We also have 4 studio units nice and spacious perfect for travelling couples with a separate kitchenette with double hot plate microwave and fridge. Our campervan park is compact and only holds 11 caravans or campervans we have a kitchen, laundry and wheelchair access bathroom. Also in the campervan park are 3 basic cabins suitable for backpackers or people on a budget. Our outdoor swimming pool is seasonal but sheltered and we are a short walk to the beach and glow worm dell. WE HAVE NO TENT SITES. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing