We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best steak I've ever had!!”

Stumpers Bar and Cafe
Ranked #3 of 29 Restaurants in Hokitika
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Hawkes bay
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best steak I've ever had!!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Beautiful steak and chicken dishes. Top customer service.. Would recommend to anyone staying nearby.... West coast hospitality!!

Helpful?
Thank Lexi3102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    264
    99
    27
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Thai salad ever!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Big meals, cheap prices and fast service.
We had a steak sandwich, Thai beef salad and wedges (massive plate). Was good to watch the people wandering along the town streets. Highly recommended

Helpful?
Thank IJenI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food & service”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

It pays to book ahead for this place as it is so popular. We went in a group of 10. We were seated quickly and our orders taken efficiently with a smile.
Every one of our group thoroughly enjoyed their meals. They were attractively plated with good sized servings. I enjoyed a rack of lamb while my husband could not believe the size of his lamb shanks (& there were 2 on his plate!).
Desserts were very nice although my chocolate fondant was overcooked. Still, very tasty and well presented.
We had vouchers for a free beer or wine with our meal. They had been in the room brochure at our motel and appreciated.
The area was clean and well laid out with plenty of room around tables, despite the crowd. Although they were turning unbooked people away we were not rushed to finish our meal so they could use the table.
All in all we had a very enjoyable evening and would recommend Stumpers.
We always eat there when we visit Hokitika and have not been disappointed yet.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CRS60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We enjoyed two meals here in 24 hours -- lunch and dinner. Both were delicious. Seating outdoors if you want. Gluten-free options. Lots of coffee.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pamanimalrescue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great service!Make reservation!”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Excellent restaurant with quick service and good food! Centrally located . Reservation essential as is located in hotel and guests frequent the Restaurant.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stumpers Bar and Cafe also viewed

Hokitika, West Coast Region
Hokitika, West Coast Region
 
Hokitika, West Coast Region
Hokitika, West Coast Region
 

Been to Stumpers Bar and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing