We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of The Fairways

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fairways
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2012

excellent,top place to stay n relax,host wher perfect at what thay wher asked of.i was down there 8th nov till 13th an injoyed every moment of it. if your n kaikoura i highly reconmend the place to stay,its only 5min to kaikoura town ship.im lookn at making a booking next april.all trotting fans should book n for next years kaikoura cup,you will injoy the stay at the fairways,

Room Tip: any room.thay are all perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sir chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2012

Stay overnight. The staff was very friendly. The place was fantastic, fully furnished and equip, very well maintain, I though it was a brand new place and its actually 5 years old. woah.
The view is great.
Its a little bit out of town, definitely need a car or good transportation to enjoy this place!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We booked a two bedroom apartment with two bathrooms one with spa bath. The apartment also had a nice outdoor area. Cosy gas fire in the lounge and very well appointed kitchen. The Manager was very helpful and friendly.The only drawback was that it was a long walk into the township consequently we needed to allocate a sober driver for dinner out.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paula c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

The Fairways was outstanding & was the best finished & furnished of any place we stayed in NZ. Had all the mod cons. It was like a little community vilage. Fantastic views of the hills & snow topped mountains & only a couple of km's out of the main town area. Owners were very helpful; highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Stayed here in November 2012 for one night. Had booked for a studio apartment but was upgraded to a full apartment (with only the one bedroom). Apartment was new and had a well equipped kitchen and bathroom, gas fire, furniture etc with large windows and amazing views.

The apartment is very large and could easily accomodate two couples and has ample parking, cooking facilities and bathrooms for a longer stay.

Only drawback to the Fairways was the short drive to Kaikoura town - approximately 10 minutes.

Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George255118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We stayed at the Fairways for one night at the end of October 2012 as part of our honeymoon trip around New Zealand.

We had a studio room which was fine but nothing special. The larger apartments did look nice and we would recommend spending a bit more to stay in one of those if you chose to stay at the Fairways.

Robyn and Graham had recently taken over the Fairways and we thought they were both very nice.

The real draw back of The Fairways is its location. We arrived on a train so we didn't have a car and its really quite far out of town. Although we were paying 'high season' prices at all hotels we visited around New Zealand, for some reason the taxi service in Kaikoura was still operating on winter times and just didn't run after 5pm. It made it so awkward to get into town for dinner and we ended up having to ask Graham for lifts to and from town which, although he was very obliging, we didn't like having to ask. However, the alternative would have been a 40 minute walk back to the Fairways along a very dark highway which we really didn't fancy.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank JB246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed at Fairways for 3 nights and loved the accommodation. We had a unit with 2 double bedrooms each with their own en suite. The beds were noted as very comfortable and the unit, particularly the kitchen, was great and well kitted out. My husband was so taken by the architecture and layout that he now wants to find a plot of land to build one! We were also lucky enough to get enough sun to use the provided BBQ 2 of the 3 nights. All this with the fact that the Fairwasy is close enough to town and has great views of the snow topped ranges all added up to a great and comfortable stay. Last but not least we all want one of the open fireplaces!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
2.0 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
2.2 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
338 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#6 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
2.1 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
1.9 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairways

Address: 1 Kersage Dr | Ocean Ridge, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range: £85 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairways 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 1 and 2 bedroom apartments and studios offering luxurious fully self contained accommodation for travelers looking for some quality and friendly service that will your make to trip to Kaikoura a memorable one. Located just 3 km south of Kaikoura within Ocean Ridge between the Kaikoura Golf course and the Kaikoura winery. Your hosts are Graham and Robyn Lamond who live on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fairways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairways Hotel Kaikoura
Fairways Motel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing