We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little out of the way”
Review of The Fairways

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fairways
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The 2-bedroom unit which we stayed in for 2 nights was well-equipped, clean and comfortable. The managers were extremely friendly and helpful. The only downside is the distance from Kaikoura itself. We found it to be very quiet at night and I particularly enjoyed the night sky- when the street lights were turned off (not sure why this occurred though), you could see millions of stars and the Milky Way- beautiful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2013

It was our 3rd time at The Fairways –as before a great, modern 1-bedroom apartment. The apartment and everything was very clean within our 2 nights stay.

Upon arrival, we were put into a 1-bedroom apartment with very noisy neighbors with children and adults running and screaming through the adjacent apartment. We immediately asked for a change, no problem, but be aware that walls are paper-thin, so check who is next to you and be ready to ask for a change if you care for things like that.

The rest was fine -5 minutes by car to Kaikoura town center, beach etc., quiet at night, and surrounded by lawns and nature.

We would come back again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelSiMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

Very modern new complex a short drive from kaikoura. We liked that we were slightly out of town as very quiet. Room clean, good service and free wifi.
The downside to us was the design of the studios. These are actually the 2nd bedroom of the bigger apartments but meant we felt like an after thought as It was dark and not very private and overall put a downer on our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saraht2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013 via mobile

The only downside here is that it is out of town. That said we were warmly welcomed, given complimentary wifi and shown how everything worked. Washing machine and tumble drier facilities and a well equipped kitchen. Nice gas fire which we did actually use as it was a bit chilly. Cant fault it.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeansandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Robyn gave us a very friendly welcome and showed us the Studio, she said that as the adjoing Apartment was not occupied we could use the additional facilities it provided; both Robyn and Graham brought along our breakfast which was extremely well presented. Studio was very clean and comfortable, an ideal overnight stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

4 of us stayed overnight. We were warmly greeted and shown to our accommodation which was excellent. Very comfortable, clean and cosy (it was cold and raining that day so we were glad of the gas fire). Very close to Kaikoura for restaurants. We enjoyed a good walk to the beach over the road despite the weather. Breakfast the next morning was basic compared to other places we stayed but perfectly adequate. The management were extremely helpful and pleasant and couldn't do enough for us. Would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Me and 3 friends stayed here as we were doing a fishing charter in Kaikoura. The Reception we got when we checked in was amazing , we got introduced to everyone and made to feel so welcome. the teams local knowledge was unsurpassed and the apartment we stayed in was very very fell equipped with BBQ and all. it was a beautiful weekend we stayed and practically he whole apartment can be opened up to make the most of it. We will stay here when we come back you will not be disappointed by the Fairways i guarantee.

Thanks to the team for a great stay.
Hope you enjoyed the crayfish graham. :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigfella10, Owner at The Fairways, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Kia ora

It was great to have you & your friends to stay Daniel. We enjoy the fact that you came for the weekend to have a break, chillax & have some fun. It's certainly good to hear laughter & people enjoying themselves.
From Graham "the crayfish was lovely, thanks"
We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
2 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
2.2 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
357 reviews
2 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#6 of 20 in Kaikoura
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
8.2 mi away
Hapuku Lodge
Hapuku Lodge
#1 of 36 in Kaikoura
311 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairways

Address: 1 Kersage Dr | Ocean Ridge, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range: £83 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Fairways 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 1 and 2 bedroom apartments and studios offering luxurious fully self contained accommodation for travelers looking for some quality and friendly service that will your make to trip to Kaikoura a memorable one. Located just 3 km south of Kaikoura within Ocean Ridge between the Kaikoura Golf course and the Kaikoura winery. Your hosts are Graham and Robyn Lamond who live on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Fairways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairways Hotel Kaikoura
Fairways Motel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing