We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to relax”
Review of The Fairways

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fairways
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2013

What a fantastic place to relax . From the first meeting with the hosts , Robyn and Graham , it was fantastic . We stayed four nights . The apartment was spacious , modern with all the amenities you could ask for . Sky tv , gas heater , spa bath and shower , even a washing machine and dryer if you has the inclination . Great views of the mountains . We came to unwind and it achieved that .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

We loved staying in our modern one bedroom apartment. It had spacious roomsand all the amenities and much more: a fully equipt kitchen, SKYTV, gas bbq, gas fireplace, under floor heating in bathroom. We enjoyed our weekend stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrienne_Sidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

This place was fantastic. The apartment was spotless and the staff were so friendly. When you are booking a place you never quite know what you are goin to get. The place had everything. The views of the mountains were stunning.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mick1518979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We had the pleasure of staying here for the night for a wee trip and wow I was blown away it was so nice and cosy and I really felt like I could live there - we had the apartment and was so much room and everything was modern and warm. The staff were really helpful and friendly and showed us around when we arrived. The weather wasn't the best unfortunately as would have loved to walk around the grounds, we also didn't hear any noise and it was pretty busy - if you want to be able to walk into town this isn't for you but the location was perfect for us and it isn't a very long drive in

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vampslayer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I stayed a couple of days here in a One bedroom apartment to recharge my batteries and relax the soul. It is just the perfect place for that. The area is really nice, the location beautiful and the apartments just stunning.
The interior design is very classy, the fireplace makes the whole place so cozy and the Spa bathtub is the perfect finish before falling into that very comfortable bed.
The well equipped kitchen even convinced me to cook my own meal although I planned to go out for dinner ;)
This place has everything you could possibly ask for. I could quite easily just live there.
My hosts were very friendly and helpful.
If you don't have your own car with you the way to town can be a bit costly, as Kaikoura Shuttles charge 20$ one way. Apart from that I enjoyed my stay very very much.
The Fairways is definitely the place to stay in Kaikoura.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Just out of town from Kaikoura but this was not an issue. The apartment was arguably the best we stayed in whilst in NZ. Open and modern with everything you could hope for. Double vanity in the bathroom, modern fire and a clean BBQ were nice touches.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We are so fortunate to be staying in such a beautiful place. Nothing has been missed with great attention to detail - from the romantic gas fireplace to the spa bath and extremely comfy beds we couldn't ask for more. Located only a few minutes from the town centre, the host Graham recommended a wonderful restaurant The Green Dolphin. Wish we were staying here for a week or longer.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Lanie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
2 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
2.2 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
357 reviews
2 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#6 of 20 in Kaikoura
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
8.2 mi away
Hapuku Lodge
Hapuku Lodge
#1 of 36 in Kaikoura
311 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairways

Address: 1 Kersage Dr | Ocean Ridge, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range: £86 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Fairways 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 1 and 2 bedroom apartments and studios offering luxurious fully self contained accommodation for travelers looking for some quality and friendly service that will your make to trip to Kaikoura a memorable one. Located just 3 km south of Kaikoura within Ocean Ridge between the Kaikoura Golf course and the Kaikoura winery. Your hosts are Graham and Robyn Lamond who live on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Fairways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairways Hotel Kaikoura
Fairways Motel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing