We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fairways

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Fairways
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Booked into a studio room for 3 nights but immediately upgraded to an apartment (#5 recommended). For a small premium the apartment offers so much more, extremely well equipped, spacious and very comfortable. We enjoyed it so much we decided to stay an extra 3 nights and I would recommend doing this in the middle of a reasonably intensive driving holiday with frequent changes of location.
The couple who look after the property could not have been more helpful and this contributed to our enjoyment. The only downside is that it is a little out of Kaikoura but the upside is that it is very peaceful with a pleasant 18 hole golf course a short par 4 away!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Worlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    67
    21
    8
    1
See reviews for
62
191
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

The unit we had was beautifully appointed, this seems to be just about the best accomodation in Kaikoura - clean, modern, with a good range of amenities, and beautiful spaces. For those expecting 5 star hotel attention or b&b personalised hospitality, you may be disappointed. The place felt like a serviced apartment, which suited our needs. One minor letdown was that one of our hosts was less than hospitable whenever inconvenienced in any way, though generally our other hosts were friendly enough.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank e c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in 2b unit. Very nice newish units with full kitchen, laundry, fireplace, and BBQ. Only complaint was beds a little hard for me. Located on a golf course but no real golf course or other views from units. Good location south of town, 3 min ride. Did not see a better choice near Kaikoura.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

The fairways was just perfect for our family stay of 3 nights in Kaikoura, we had a car so getting about was not an issue as this place is not right in the town of kaikoura but a little bit south.
Very up market accommodation with plenty of facilities, BBQ, washing and drying machines too.
Great place to stay, we went out with Whalewatch and saw 2 and a school of Dolphins it was fantastic and a memory that will last for a long time. Also went deep sea fishing with Gerry ( FishingKaikoura ) and all caught plenty of fish, took the fillets to Don's Fish & Chip shop, where he battered them and we sat and ate our own freshly caught fish with chips ( Perfect ). Kaikoura and the Fairways is a must.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We booked this on very short notice on wotif and when we arrived 3 hours later, it was all sorted. Very nice studio unit, top quality bedding and towels. Short walk to a deserted beach. Enjoyable stay. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. Unfortunately it poured with rain the entire time and so any view of the mountains cannot be commented on as we could barely see the road!

The accommodation was for five people and consisted of two units with an interlocking door. It was clean, modern and well equipped. The fireplace was very welcome bearing in mind the weather.

I would recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonH1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
175 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We decided to stay a night here on our way from Akaroka to Picton. It was a last minute change so we didn't do a lot of research. The units were very nice, and in excellent condition. If you plan to play golf it is probably the ideal location. If you aren't going to play golf, there are a lot of other properties that are closer to the waterfront if that is important. From the units at night you can hear a little bit of noise from the road if you are a light sleeper. The on site managers are very nice, but be prepared for the overly detailed check in where they go over every small detail maybe a little too much :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
2.1 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
2.1 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#14 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
3.1 mi away
Kaikoura Cottage Motels
Kaikoura Cottage Motels
#2 of 36 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
5.3 mi away
Koura Bay Lodge
Koura Bay Lodge
#15 of 36 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairways

Property: The Fairways
Address: 1 Kersage Dr | Ocean Ridge, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairways 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 1 and 2 bedroom apartments and studios offering luxurious fully self contained accommodation for travelers looking for some quality and friendly service that will your make to trip to Kaikoura a memorable one. Located just 3 km south of Kaikoura within Ocean Ridge between the Kaikoura Golf course and the Kaikoura winery. Your hosts are Graham and Robyn Lamond who live on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your The Fairways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairways Hotel Kaikoura
Fairways Motel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing