We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will be back!”

Hislops Wholefood Cafe
Ranked #11 of 57 Restaurants in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$32
Cuisines: Cafe, Soups, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Will be back!”
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

All the food we had was fresh and kids were happy. Service was very good! GF organic and vegetarian!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobiUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    72
    30
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Outram New Zealand
2 reviews
“Good Experience”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Beautiful fish dish, adjusted the menu to suit me being Dairy & Gluten Free. Nice coffee too. No complaints here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We were in a bad mood because just booked into a poor motel up the road but we were cheered up by the friendly service and good food.
It did seem a bit on the expensive side but most of NZ s the same.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious and fresh”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stopped for lunch after hiking the peninsula walkway which made for a great appetite, and we were so happy to find this little oasis! The wines were great, I had the green mussels which were delicious, my husband had the steak, everything was delicious! Our waitress said she didn't drink and was vegan so couldn't help with recommendations, but we liked everything we picked. I definitely recommend and will go back if we're ever in the neighborhood!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily_Fabien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammo50
Level Contributor
89 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Only can speak for coffee”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Great coffee! We did not eat so I can not say how the food was but the coffee was more ish! As a long black drinker, no sugar, I am quite picky about my coffee and this passed the test!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hislops Wholefood Cafe also viewed

Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Hislops Wholefood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing