We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albatross Backpacker Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Ben and Katie, the owners of the Albratross,do a superb job of making their guests feel at home. They provide a kitchen stocked with all the things you need to make cooking easier. Twice a week they hold a BBQ. For a nominal sum you get a great meal.

Both the washrooms and the kitchen area are kept extremely clean.
Bikes are available for the short ride into town.
The lounge is well stocked with books and puzzles and provides a great atmosphere for meeting people.

The bedrooms are a little on the small size but this is inevitable given the historic nature of the building - a former post-office.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidinToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    37
    26
    13
    7
See reviews for
12
76
57
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

I recently stayed at this hostel Feb 28th, 2011 in the "self contained" unit with 2 bedrooms and a bath. Our kitchen had a microwave, coffee hot pot, and a sink that dripped a constant flow of water. Which was surprising due to their claim being an eco friendly, environmentally conscious, hostel. Much to our disappointment there was no stove top or refrigerator. We were told we had all cooking facilities and would not need to use the kitchen. We also had tea and coffee and supposedly hot chocholate. This was nothing more than baking cocoa, which was disgusting to drink. The main kitchen was full of people and quite small. On a positive note, it was nice they offered herbs and tomatoes from their garden for those who wanted them. The unit has three futon beds, and mine was in the front bedroom on the street side. Upon climbing in for the night, I placed my head on the worn, flattened foul, sour, smelling pillow that immediately I threw on the floor. It wreaked of body odor!! My son slept in the living area on the futon and my friend in the other bedroom. Shortly after lights, out I heard bathroom noises on the other side of the paper thin wall next to my bed. Conversations were easily heard through the walls and the toliet flushing with the bathroom door opening and closing. I had very little sleep without a pillow, while listening to the activity in the adjacent bathroom which serviced the dorm next to my bedroom. After my morning electically operated shower in a small stall with a moldy plastic shower curtain, I was able to truly see the condition of my bed linens. At the foot of the bed, where one would sit, I observed a brown stain that appeared to be like a racing stripe. My bedspread was stained and filthy. There is nothing asthetically pleasing about the views either. The alley where the back bedroom peers out onto had a dirty queen mattress and trash cans. The main living area windoews are smack next to the clothes line leaving you with little privacy. The manager, Ben, was contacted about the linens and he was very disagreable. Before you shell out $150.00, check out other lodges in the area!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NurseHirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albatr0ss, Owner at Albatross Backpacker Inn, responded to this review, 19 March 2011
Phew... Ok, let's start at the top.
The tap won't drip if it's fully turned off. Which, as we are environmentally conscious, we would appreciate.
This guest was informed of the facilities on booking.
Our hot chocolate is fair trade and organic and this is the first, and I would imagine only, complaint we've had about our complimentary hot chocolate!
The unit contains two rooms with a double bed in each and a sofa bed in the lounge for an extra person. This guest only booked for 2 people so the third person she mentions must have sneaked in after hours to avoid the extra charge.
The linen is cleaned daily and when this guest informed us of the "smelling pillow" her words were "you probably can't smell it now". As there is a total of 6 pillows in the unit, we doubt this guest slept without one. The "racing stripe" referred to was most certainly not present on arrival and this guest has clearly stated that she didn't discover it until the following morning. - After she used the bed.
As you can see from the photo that was kindly uploaded, there is no mold on the shower curtain.
The "alley" is the hostel carpark. The photo she maintains is the view from her window, is not.
As we are upgrading mattresses, the one she has photographed was airing for no more than half an hour during changeover.
It's a shame people feel the need to pick-a-part their own holidays in an attempt to receive a refund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2011

What a lovely, warm, friendly hostel! My best stay in a backpackers ever! Ben and Katie are wonderful, helpful owners who go out of their way to ensure everyone is cared for. The place is spotless and full of beautiful artwork and musical instruments. We had an amazing sing-a-long session and they even taught me some ukulele! The rooms are clean and quiet and the kitchen is filled with everything you could need including free hot chocolate!
I highly recommend this hostel to everyone!!! Oh, and ask Katie to bake some chocolate brownies - they're INCREDIBLE! Missing this place already!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BiancaPs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
117 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2011

This place can be very nice, but when we were there is was too crowded. The kitchen is not designed for many people. The fridge is dirty, therefore we had to throw food away because chicken fluid from a top shelf was leaking in our bag. People were even cooking at midnight...or talking / playing guitar very loud! And because of the thin walls you can here everything. At night an alarm went off and the staff did not tell at check in that this for the fire brigade. Therefore a lot of people were awake and walking in the corridor. Because of the noise and the small bed i did not sleep well

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marko1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albatr0ss, Owner at Albatross Backpacker Inn, responded to this review, 29 January 2011
Our fridges are cleaned out daily. It is obviously beyond our control as to where other guests place their meat.
There are signs (8 in total) in all toilets and common rooms explaining the volunteer fire alarm. This alarm is not unique to Kaikoura and you'll probably come across it in most small NZ towns.
Our kitchen and lounge are open 24 hours for the convenience of all guests and as this is the height of summer, people will most certainly be socialising/playing music!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
142 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

Good location in a former post office building. The hostel is nicely decorated in bright colours. It's clean and comfortable. Our double room was nice and clean, there should be some more things to hang clothes on however, but that's the only negative I have to say about the room.

The owners are helpful and nice, they can help with bookings etc. There are lots of space for just hanging out. There are four showers in a common room, and two toilets. The kitchen is a bit ill-planned and un-organized and gets quite crowded easily. Otherwise, it's perfectly fine.

One thing that was a bit disturbing was the cleaning times: kitchen and showers were supposed to be cleanded around 11 am and for about half an hour, but the kitchen was often cleaned around noon, which I found a bit annoying, since many people having lunch then....Just a small complaint, otherwise it's very good!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Egus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2010

Ben and Katie are the best. They know how to run a good hostel and they know how to cook!! The hostel itself is set out really well, it has a good communal area (no TV - which is a huge plus) and a good kitchen.
The rooms are tiny but clean. The room layout is odd, it must of been a really big room that they have divided up with plywood walls and then not painted. The sound proofing is not that great but saying that we were not disturbed by any loud people. The communal shower area is good and the showers themselves are really good.
There are free bikes, free cooking lessons when Ben and Katie cook and plenty of books and boardgames to keep you amused. There is even a little corner where you can go and paint pictures if you like.
Its the best choice in Kaikoura by far, but mainly due to the staff and the vibe.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesCollinsWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2010

I had a brilliant 3 nights staying in this lovely hostel. The rooms were clean and quiet. The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. I was picked up as promised off the bus in town and made to feel at home with free coffee,tea and hot choc available in the spacious kitchen . There was also a most useful shelf of herbs/spices from the garden and sauces that guests'' had left behind which saved buying everything which i thought very useful. i really loved that they recycled absolutely everything too. Top spot to visit. definitely recommend this hostel and the dolphin swim which leaves from just around the corner which is much appreciated if you have a 5am swim!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathrynjnewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.1 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.3 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers
#15 of 36 in Kaikoura
182 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Lodge Backpackers
Dolphin Lodge Backpackers
#8 of 36 in Kaikoura
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albatross Backpacker Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatross Backpacker Inn

Property: Albatross Backpacker Inn
Address: 1 Torquay Street, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostel with Soul! Characterful historic building filled with music, art, food and good company! Run by travelers for travelers, at The Albatross you'll find a warm, inviting place in which to unwind after your time on the road. What we offer you:- Spacious lounge filled with art by world travellers, musical instruments and plenty of space to relax.- Funky well-equipped kitchen with complimentary herbs, spices, cooking oil and Fairtrade Organic tea, coffee and hot chocolate.- Warm, comfortable rooms with heaters in each and fully made beds.- An Art Corner for creating masterpieces! - Guitars, ukuleles, hand drums and songbooks.- Loads of fun board games and well-stocked book exchange.- Regular group dinners, BBQs in summer and hot puddings by the log fire in winter.- Sunny garden with a gas BBQ, lots of tables and herbs & veggies for you to pick.- Free bikes. Cyclist specials and lockable bike storage.- Lots of good local info and advice, free guide book rental, onward travel booking. Come join us for our next Curry Night, a Jam Session or an epic round of "Kaikouropoly"! Ben and Katie look forward to welcoming you to The Albatross. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Albatross Backpacker Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatross Backpacker Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing