We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bright warm backpacker” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albatross Backpacker Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albatross Backpacker Inn
mumbai
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Bright warm backpacker”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

i generally found south island backpackers to be better than north island ones with better people, more freebies thrown in and better location.
this one isnt that great in terms of location but makes up with affordable rooms, lounge and free soup.
we stayed here for 2 days owing to rains on one day but we never felt lonely on that rainy day owing to hot coffee and soup in the lounge where we could relax reading a book.
nice place if intends to save money on good accomodation in kaikoura.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank humphreyappleby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    37
    26
    13
    7
See reviews for
12
76
57
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Albatross is a different experience from most backpackers, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

It is extremely "green," and offers plenty of opportunities for guests to participate in their sustainability efforts. The entire place was clean. I didn't feel like I had to have shoes on at every moment or cringe if I touched the wall of the shower. It was actually comfortable. My bed had a full set of (clean) sheets, with extra pillows and blankets, with fresh, soft towels. They offer extra amenities if you need, like hair dryers or converters. They have a herb garden with a few veggies that are free to use, along with a fully stocked kitchen and outdoor grills. The kitchen even has baking supplies, with the condition that if you make treats, you share them with others. They don't have a tv in the common area - instead they encourage guests to visit with each other, play the piano, strum one of the many guitars, play the board or card games available, or, in my case, paint. I was absolutely awed by how well-run this place was.

It is a little farther out of town, but a nice mid-point between the seal colonies and town center. The only downside is that it seems to be a little short on bathroom facilities. Most of the time I had to wait to use a toilet or walk to a different building for a shower.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Miriam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

They have a great big living room to hang out and a lot of nice games. Unfortunately the kitchen is always overcrowded cause it's simply too smal for so many backpackers. And there are two toilets for a lot of people - if you're a guy you're lucky and can go to the garden. The laundry is always busy and you gotta wait for quite some time to use washing machine or dryer. The beds are simple bunkbeds, not too comfortable. All in all I was happy to stay only one night and would not go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Knute88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We have had a really lovely five day stay at this hostel in beautiful Kaikoura - so far our favourite place in NZ. The people who run the place (Ben and Katie) are incredibly friendly and welcoming. The place itself is great - comfortable room (double bed with windows - such a nice change from the slightly grim hostels in Wellington and Auckland which had a single bunk above the double bed, and no natural light!).

The kitchen is big and well set-up, with lots of equipment and communal supplies (oil, salt, pepper etc), plus free tea, coffee, sugar and hot chocolate. It is obviously eco-friendly, with lots of recycling bins and tips. Good heating. Two of the main attractions are the lack of TV and the musical instruments in the communal areas - such a cool vibe, way better than a TV blaring all day and night.

Great location - 15 minute walk from the bus stop and into town, 5 minute walk to Dolphin Encounter. Beautiful area of NZ, so many amazing marine animals in this region, and the Peninsula walk was fantastic, as was the PEAP tour (penguins), whale watch, and swimming with dolphins.

The ONLY catch with this hostel (which prevents me giving a five star rating) is that it is a victim of its own success - it seems to be filled way over-capacity, and half the people staying here seem to be long-term guests (some have been here for 2 months) who also work here part-time - this is a lovely experience for this group of people, who have formed a really tight clique of buddies who hang out day and night at the hostel and they all seem like nice people who are having a great time in NZ - BUT it does make it a little hard for other people to use the communal areas/kitchen...

But this is a minor complaint and perhaps inevitable with a hostel this good. Overall this has been the best hostel we have stayed in for ages, and by far the best place we have stayed in NZ. Would definitely recommend staying here, just be ready for the crowds : )

Room Tip: We were in the main building which is perhaps a little noisier than the other two buildings, but all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LM631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Cozy and nice room but bathrooms and kitchen were not clean at all. Noisy during the night until almost 3 a.m. There are certainly better places in Kaikoura even if it's not an expensive place. Host was friendly and very helpful. Town is just a short walk away.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MissPLucerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

As soon as we arrived here we knew we'd enjoy our stay - the staff were friendly, giving us a tour on arrival, our room was a good size and very comfortable and the hostel itself had a great vibe. The communal area and kitchen were open and inviting with great character, making us feel very at home. Though this hostel is a 5/10 minute walk away from the main shops, it's location on a quite street just back from the beach adds to the relaxing atmosphere, highly recommend for travellers!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vietnam
Level Contributor
248 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

This hostel was great. As soon as I walked in the atmosphere was warm and full of people. It had quotes written all over the walls and paintings, the biggest attraction for me was there was no TV. Instead there were musical instruments around the room which anyone could sit and use. A really relaxed place. We slept in our camper van outside and used the facilities available which were all great - a big kitchen and lots of bathrooms. My favourite part of the hostel was the painting corner - I'm unsure if its still there! But anyone can use them and the hostel is decorated with other travellers paintings, and painted rocks. A really cool place!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers
#17 of 36 in Kaikoura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albatross Backpacker Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatross Backpacker Inn

Property: Albatross Backpacker Inn
Address: 1 Torquay Street, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostel with Soul! Characterful historic building filled with music, art, food and good company! Run by travelers for travelers, at The Albatross you'll find a warm, inviting place in which to unwind after your time on the road. What we offer you:- Spacious lounge filled with art by world travellers, musical instruments and plenty of space to relax.- Funky well-equipped kitchen with complimentary herbs, spices, cooking oil and Fairtrade Organic tea, coffee and hot chocolate.- Warm, comfortable rooms with heaters in each and fully made beds.- An Art Corner for creating masterpieces! - Guitars, ukuleles, hand drums and songbooks.- Loads of fun board games and well-stocked book exchange.- Regular group dinners, BBQs in summer and hot puddings by the log fire in winter.- Sunny garden with a gas BBQ, lots of tables and herbs & veggies for you to pick.- Free bikes. Cyclist specials and lockable bike storage.- Lots of good local info and advice, free guide book rental, onward travel booking. Come join us for our next Curry Night, a Jam Session or an epic round of "Kaikouropoly"! Ben and Katie look forward to welcoming you to The Albatross. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Albatross Backpacker Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatross Backpacker Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing