We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite hostels in NZ!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albatross Backpacker Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hostel for two nights. We payed for a bed in a large dorm room but because it was low season they put us in a spare twin room for both nights at no extra charge. The hostel located between the town and the seal colony, the two biggest attractions in kaikoura so its a good location. The staff are really froendly and nice, we joined in for nacho night and then had a jam session afterward. Overall, the hostel is full of character, a very friendly feel and i would have loved to stay longer if we only had more time on our trip!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
There are newer reviews for Albatross Backpacker Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

I stayed at Albatross for 4 nights and had a lovely time, met some really awesome people and enjoyed lots of baked goods courtesy of the free baking box!!!! Its in a perfect location with a short walk to town. Free bike hire and good vibes :-)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harriet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Good things first: The staff of the hostel is very friendly, and their ecological thinking deserves a big thumb up! Nevertheless, the room was tiny and the smokers table unfortunately straight in front of our window, and the sleep quality all in all not very good. The kitchen was more or less clean, but the rooms and the bathrooms definitely need closer attention. Staying here for one night was okay – 78 NZ$ for a double room with shared bathroom seemed a bit too expensive though after having whole units with bathrooms and kitchens on the North Island for the same price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5months2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Showed up very late into Kaikoura without a reservation anywhere. After driving around and seeing everywhere closed, the owner at Albatross opened the reception desk up and offered us a place in the lot for our campa van. Lots of young backpackers hanging out but doesn't feel crowded. Kitchen and bathrooms are nice and well maintained.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The Albatross Inn is absolutely the best hostel I have been to in New Zealand.

The atmosphere of this place is incredible. As you enter the doors, you are at the reception desk, from here, the entire communal area is open-plan - the kitchen, computer area, living area, music area, dining area, art corner and telephone are all in the same, large space. It's a fantastic set up, wonderfully laid out with a really inclusive feel to it.

The hostel is a keen promoter of conversation and to help this occur, there is no television. In the words of the owners - three of the greatest catalysts for connecting with others are food, music and art and, as such, these practices are greatly encouraged and very well catered for. This is what travelling is all about, meeting new people, trying new things and sharing. I have never felt so relaxed and so welcome in a hostel. It's the perfect size for a diverse group of people to interact and get to know each other - never does it feel too small and never does it feel too big. You can do what you want, when you want and you never feel like you've wasted your time. It's wonderful.

Another great thing is that the bedrooms are away from the communal areas, meaning that even if people are up late - you are not kept awake. This is absolutely essential, especially when you've been on the road and are in need of quality rest.

Without a doubt, this is my favourite hostel in New Zealand.

Hugely recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

After spending time in busy Base/Nomad hostels in the bigger towns in NZ, it was great to find a welcoming, relaxed hostel. The manager was lovely and incredibly welcoming. Rooms are comfortable and cheap. The hostel is located a little walk away from the main area of Kaikoura, so the hostel is peaceful and you can actually get a decent night's sleep.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
Thank ameliabroughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The hostel was nice enough, very nicely decorated - loved all the murals. It felt very homely but just not like our home... maybe because we're not backpackers. The kitchen was overcrowded and the fridges were full to bursting. Quite a few flies everywhere and my partner swears he saw a mouse in the kitchen but I never saw it so I can't be sure!!
We stayed in a double room, it was small and cosy, but with mould on the ceiling. We seemed to have been given the worst of the double rooms though from peeking in at a few others - they looked very nice! We were given towels which was very useful. Our room was warm enough when we put the heater on but the rest of the hostel was freezing cold a lot of the time - might've been all the high windows which we noticed were open.
The free tea and hot chocolate were really nice touches and the free bikes also useful (except the one I used the right pedal was going crazy and I couldn't keep my foot on it). The showers were hot and relatively clean and mould-free compared to some hostels I have stayed in. The toilets were clean and nice.
The hostel is in a nice position, close to the sea and town. We walked to the whale watching station, about 10 mins away. The hostel is also packed with games and things to play with which is nice.
Overall we had a nice time, just maybe the kitchen is a bit small for everyone that was there (can't imagine what it's like in the summer season!). The cleaning could also do with a step up, but it was cleaner than some other hostels. Maybe we're just getting a bit old for hostels??? (only 21...........!)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BB1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#6 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers
#14 of 36 in Kaikoura
185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Lodge Backpackers
Dolphin Lodge Backpackers
#8 of 36 in Kaikoura
133 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albatross Backpacker Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatross Backpacker Inn

Address: 1 Torquay Street, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range: £32 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostel with Soul! Characterful historic building filled with music, art, food and good company! Run by travelers for travelers, at The Albatross you'll find a warm, inviting place in which to unwind after your time on the road. What we offer you:- Spacious lounge filled with art by world travellers, musical instruments and plenty of space to relax.- Funky well-equipped kitchen with complimentary herbs, spices, cooking oil and Fairtrade Organic tea, coffee and hot chocolate.- Warm, comfortable rooms with heaters in each and fully made beds.- An Art Corner for creating masterpieces! - Guitars, ukuleles, hand drums and songbooks.- Loads of fun board games and well-stocked book exchange.- Regular group dinners, BBQs in summer and hot puddings by the log fire in winter.- Sunny garden with a gas BBQ, lots of tables and herbs & veggies for you to pick.- Free bikes. Cyclist specials and lockable bike storage.- Lots of good local info and advice, free guide book rental, onward travel booking. Come join us for our next Curry Night, a Jam Session or an epic round of "Kaikouropoly"! Ben and Katie look forward to welcoming you to The Albatross. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Albatross Backpacker Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatross Backpacker Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing