We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tiny cabin with a tiny private pic-nic table - lovely!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We spent two nights at this park, in one of their cabins (#8). The cabin is small and very plain (just room for a double bed and a small table) but it was fairly close to the facilities and that is really all we needed, and so we were very happy. The kitchen and bath facilities are excellent, and the folks who run the place are friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CdnBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlpinePacificHP, Manager at Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you! Cabin #8 is personally my favourite! A little further away from the others and your own private view of the Kaikoura Ranges and farmland.Please come and visit again soon!
:) Leila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

239 - 245 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2013

We stayed in an en-suite cabin. Plenty of room, and very quiet, clean &tidy. Handy to everything, walked 2mins to supermarket. Variety of places to eat within 2 mins walking distance. Take-away coffee right across the road. We have already recommended to friends. Helpful friendly staff :)

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank K1ngsGld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Very clean and tidy, and convenient located to the facilities in Kaikoura. Only slight problem, none of the people using the spa could work out how to turn the jets on, so it was more of a hot tub. Lots of kids in the pools, so not a place for a romantic getaway, but we will certainly stay again if we are in Kaikoura.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caibee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlpinePacificHP, Manager at Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thanks for your feedback! So sorry with the confusion of the hot tubs!!! Unfortunately there are no jets on these tubs, more like a lovely deep hot bath :) Be sure to come back over the low season so you can enjoy a more romantic and quiet getaway, the kids love our pools!! Leila :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Very nice holiday park in Kaikoura. We loved the hot tub and the duck family which frequented this very quiet and centrally located holiday park with clean facilities. Only negative point is that there is no free wifi which I think should be standard these days.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swissgastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Our second favourite site on our camper van tour round South Island (sorry but Lake Te Anau trumps you). The receptionist was friendly, very welcoming and very helpful. The powered site was small and lacked shade but otherwise was very pleasant. There are a number of friendly ducks that wander round.

The laundry charge includes detergent operated by push button. This was a fantastic idea as it meant we didn't have to buy and waste most of a bottle from a shop. The site is on the outskirts of Kaikoura, opposite the Whale Watching site, but unfortunately blocked by the railway, so you have to walk about 20 minutes to it.

Kaikoura has a large selection of restaurants within 20 minutes walk.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rainstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

The place is smal an normally that would be a good thing if you ask me, but during school holidays, the park is not big enough to allow kids run, scream, shot and everything else they do. Thankfully we weren't travelling with any but staying here they just seemed to be everywhere.

In the pool they were wild and screaming and jumping into the water and even the spas and nobody, parents or staff, telling them to stop.

Facilities are old and in need of upgrading but they are kept clean. Laundry is difficult in busy times, there are only two was honing machines.

Worst thing is the BBQ. You have to pay for it but the first six minutes (more like ten if you ask me) of your 30 you have to wait for it to heat up.

I probably would stay again but not during school holidays.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finestireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Clean and tidy amenities, small campsite but very conveniently located. Friendly hard working staff. The holiday park is located within a short walk to the beach and shops. Did not stay a 2nd night - saved $44 by parking by the beach instead.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.6 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#14 of 20 in Kaikoura
122 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
#16 of 20 in Kaikoura
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0 mi away
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers
#17 of 36 in Kaikoura
192 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brook House B&B & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park

Address: 69 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range: £38 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy picturesque views, FREE hot tub and swimming pool. Excellent accommodation options inc. motel units, cabins, tent and RV campervan sites. Pets welcome by prior arrangement. Our park is close to all sea, land, cultural and sporting adventures and attractions. Kaikoura is an amazing natural environment, and the Home of NZ's whale watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing