We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique beautiful !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Charming building (the dark and light, the wooden features, the interior decor), fantastic location (views over the bay, 2 minutes to the town yet blissfully quiet), great hosts (made to feel very welcome by friendly owners and staff alike), excellent cleanliness (bedroom and bathroom/shower both spotless), good room (comfy, luxurious bed, minibar, nice shower and vanity area). Good breakfast choice served in a lovely dining space. Free wifi ! Value for money - excellent. Will be back in Kaikoura one day and would stay here again !

Room Tip: All rooms are nice but rooms with direct ocean views for the sunrise is a nice spot.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammimack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
There are newer reviews for Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

231 - 237 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed one night in a courtyard standard room, which was compact but still enough room for us both and our bags and not as small as I had thought it might be. We felt it was really good value for the price. Decor was elegant and beautiful, bed was super comfy, the welcome at reception was very friendly and helpful, and we just loved the place. Would definitely, definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 262CatherineM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon, traveling around the South Island. The host was very helpful and friendly and the hotel offers free wifi which is a great bonus. One of the best things about the hotel is its proximity to Kaikoura town centre. Can walk there in 10min.
The 'standard room' wasn't the biggest we've stayed in, but the bed was one of the most comfortable by far! Important when we had to be up at 5am for the dolphin encounter (which is a MUST DO!). Bedlinen was comfy and the room was sophisticated in its decor. Was a lovely place to stay in Kaikoura and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zedana111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This hotel really lives up to its boutique name.We stayed in the deluxe upper floor front room facing the sea.The room had a real quality feel with superb decoration and a spacious bathroom.We even had a balcony that allowed fantastic views of the setting.The hotel is modern and well situated at the quieter end of town that allows for a peaceful and restful evening.The hotel has the added benefit of a quality restaurant on the premises,although there are numerous other eating establishments a short walk away.The hotel has an interesting history that has been retained and reflected in the recent major refurbishment.Overall a well run establishment with a very friendly and helpful owner on site.

Room Tip: Worth the extra cost to stay in the deluxe room due to its spacious size and magnificent views
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigersChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

My fiancé and I only stayed one night but were extremely impressed. After working our way up from Christchurch staying in two other hotels this was by far the best. What you see on the website is exactly what you get, if not better. The host on arrival was lovely warm and very helpful. He showed us to our room and made some nice suggestions for sight seeing,restaurants,pubs and directed us to the Seal colony -which was only down the road.The room was beautiful! We stayed in the deluxe king room - which was fabulous. Perfect mix of contemporary and heritage with historic photos of the hotel and kaikoura. We were directly across from the beach. We could see the water from our bed (which might I add was very comfortable!)
The rooms were private and quiet - we couldn't even hear the other guests (including the young family staying next door)
We had a friendly conversation with the owner out in the courtyard which added to wondeful experience. Free parking & wifi, walking distance to the town centre (10min walk). Great hotel, in our opinion the best there. Worth the money will def stay there again!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline4_jeremy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Had no idea this place would be so chilled.feel I have been away for days and only arrived a couple of hours ago!!!!Currently sitting in lounge overlooking sea sipping a vino!!! Rooms great and service 110% .

Room lovely .we chose the courtyard room and NO complaints at all .

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lynnemcloughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I think this is a place for tourists and first time visitors to New Zealand with lots of money to spend. Wanting a stop off en route back home from Nelson ( and having left it too late!) it was Hobson's Choice. Yes, it is very nicely decorated and very nicely situated in our beautiful country. Our host was charming - but for a family - 2 adults and 3 children for one night at nearly $1000 we felt it was considerably overpriced I am afraid and not many kiwis would part with this kind of money in exchange for what we got. Rooms were too hot and the pillows really uncomfortable. Not thinking to give guests milk for tea at these prices ?! We are seasoned travellers and have stayed throughout New Zealand and the rest of Europe and the UK ( most recently London) at some fabulous accommodation and would not rate this as value for money at all - sorry :(

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#6 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites Kaikoura
Quality Suites Kaikoura
#1 of 20 in Kaikoura
712 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0.6 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Boutique Hotel

Address: 146 Esplanade, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand (Formerly Maxtons On The Shore)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range: £102 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kaikoura Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming historic hotel on the Esplanade of Kaikoura's peninsula has amazing and uninterrupted views of the sea, mountains and dramatic sun rises. Your entire experience of the hotel is sure to delight from stunning contemporary interior design to the deliciously famous breakfast spread and what many say, NZ's best barista coffee. The hotel boasts the planet's most far-flung champagne bar, Phenix. Delightful spot to linger over bubbles and the spectacular view or for pre-dinner drinks. Open daily til sunset. Room rate include breakfast, wifi, parking and a memory you'll not soon forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kaikoura Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing