We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Koura Bay Lodge(Kaikoura)
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Seas Motel(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Wacky Stays(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Manakau Lodge(Kaikoura)
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$59
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaview Motel(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fairways(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$176
Elvoline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (390)
Filter reviews
390 results
Traveller rating
233
107
29
9
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
233
107
29
9
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingbeautiful hotelsmall hotelchampagne barlovely boutiquestylish decorespresso coffeeshared balconyboiled eggscomfortable beddinner reservationswould stay here againpeninsula walkoverlooking the seasmall roomsouth islandnew zealand
Filter
Updating list...
272 - 277 of 390 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This is a wonderful little hotel with few rooms and a great staff. They were friendly and knowledgeable about the area - can't say enough about them. Close to downtown and all of the local sites and excursions. Had a wonderful evening just sitting in the courtyard, answering emails, and enjoying the birds flying around and talking. Excellent cleanliness.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We booked a courtyard room with external table and chairs, expecting something special. What we got was a shed in a backyard with table and chairs squashed into a fenced off area hardly a metre wide, certainly not in the courtyard. It was adjacent to the dining room and presumably the kitchen so we got all the smells of food and the clattering of crockery late into the night.
The room was tiny without anywhere at all to unpack clothes, not a drawer nor a hanging rail. There was only one bedside table, one chair and a suitcase stand. A fridge and kettle were tucked away in an alcove. The shower room was not at all luxurious either. It was a tiny extension to the rear of the shed and definitely done "on the cheap". The roof was corrugated plastic, the shower seemed to be lined with linoleum - certainly not tiles. A poor DIY job at best! It was overpriced accommodation which certainly did not meet any of our expectations.
To try to be fair the pluses were - a comfy bed and a genial host.

Room Tip: Do NOT book a "courtyard room", they are extremely small sheds.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Geejay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn S, Owner at Kaikoura Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

We are so sorry you were disappointed with your room. You actually stayed in a Courtyard Standard Room (as did the previous reviewer), which is indeed small, and advertised as such. However, the last thing we want is for any guest to be unhappy, and for this, we sincerely apologise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We have traveled all over the world only to find this most wonderful best kept secret in the beautiful town of Kaikoura where we share a very personal family history. We arrived quite late but the very warm and friendly welcome was a bonus - nothing was too difficult and we were very impressed with the accommodation. Everything we needed, wifi and including plates and cutlery which is extremely rare these days. Also a very pleasant lounge to sip a wine and admire the lovely shoreline of Kaikoura beach. A credit to the owners and the staff who keep the rooms immaculate.

AAA we say and would recommend to all Lynda and Murray from Australia

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Charming building (the dark and light, the wooden features, the interior decor), fantastic location (views over the bay, 2 minutes to the town yet blissfully quiet), great hosts (made to feel very welcome by friendly owners and staff alike), excellent cleanliness (bedroom and bathroom/shower both spotless), good room (comfy, luxurious bed, minibar, nice shower and vanity area). Good breakfast choice served in a lovely dining space. Free wifi ! Value for money - excellent. Will be back in Kaikoura one day and would stay here again !

Room Tip: All rooms are nice but rooms with direct ocean views for the sunrise is a nice spot.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammimack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed one night in a courtyard standard room, which was compact but still enough room for us both and our bags and not as small as I had thought it might be. We felt it was really good value for the price. Decor was elegant and beautiful, bed was super comfy, the welcome at reception was very friendly and helpful, and we just loved the place. Would definitely, definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 262CatherineM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews