We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The location was perfect and we could walk to the areas best restaurant for the famous Crayfish.
The room was small but immaculately clean. The welcome was friendly and the owner very helpful to book restaurant and tell us about the area.
We sat out in the court yard with the pretty flowers and had a glass of wine in the sun -perfect!!
A very enjoyable one night stop over

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms small but cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne_and_Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

214 - 220 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

If you are looking for a great upmarket place to stay whilst visiting Kaikoura then this is the place.Wonderfull room with great views and parking.This was our last stop on an awesum tour of the South Island on a Harley and it met all our expectations. Robyn gave us great info on where to eat and we would definetly stay there again should we be so lucky to return to Kaikoura.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had a nice room with a seall own terrace in front of the room.Looking on a kind od patio . Nice to sip on your glass of TOHU sauvignon blanc out of the stock in the little fridge Just a short walk from the not so big towncentre and a little further the Whalewatching station. Owner was very friendly and after a short talk we knew that hospitality with a big "H" was part of the hotel.
Although just one night staying , we surely can recommend this venue to everybody.
Hans G The Netherlands

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanclippen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This Boutique Hotel was simply wonderful. The room was delightfully fitted out with lots of attention to detail in every aspect. The owners could not do enough for us and were always willing to provide ideas on what to do with our time or even just stop to have a chat. Research pointed to this hotel and having read most of the reviews expectations were high and fully met. We had a first floor room with a balcony at the side of the main property over the joining restaurant (which was also very good). From that balcony we could see the sea and the mountains - lovely sight with the suning shining down most of the time. Kaikoura provides the ultimate access to marine wildlife and the sights were simply awesome.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Lovely hotel with an excellent service and very helpful staff. We got a really nice room with balcony and sea view. A nice old and charming building located on perfect walking distance to the small city centre.
Take the opportunity to walk around the peninsula, it was highly recommended by the staff and we agree. And don't miss the whale safari, it was amazing.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed at this charming hotel on a road trip round the south island. Our room was situated in the courtyard and although compact had everything we could possibly need, in fact the bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept in and everything was absolutely spotless.
The owner Robyn, was simply delightful and nothing was too much trouble.
The original hotel has recently been refurbished to a very high standard and next time we visit we would love to experience a room within the main building and would recommend this to others.
Kaikoura has the quietest, darkest nights with a million shining stars.....it's like stepping back in time, but maintaining the comforts of the modern day! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alltheharveys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My wife and I, like most people visiting a region for the first time, put our faith in the research that we have done and also in the reliance of the accuracy of the information gleaned from websites.
Having said this we have at times been disappointed by what we were confronted with upon our arrival.
However, in this case we were absolutely delighted with what we had chosen.
We had booked a sea view room, with a balcony (the best room in the Hotel) and it was perfect. The room was well appointed and my wife and I both agreed that the, design, decor, layout and fixtures were excellent. The ensuite shower was great.
The hotel is set away from the main town centre which again, suited us as we wanted to get a good nights sleep, which we did.
As the Hotel no longer has a functioning restaurant we had to eat out. Once again, no hassle, as Robyn recommended a local restaurant called the Green Dolphin and made the necessary booking on our behalf.
We woke to a superb day with clear blue sky, no wind and an amazing view of the ocean and of the nearby snow capped mountains.The Hotel location is within a reasonable walk of the town in one direction and also of the Green Dolphin in the other direction. It sits across from the foreshore and has magnificent views.
The fact that we were away from the town centre was no great hassle to us, as we had a hire car (need to be careful of the drink driving thing though). There is convenient off street car parking available accessed from the side street.
All in all had a great one night stay and certainly recommend the room in which we stayed, cannot really comment on the rest of the rooms though, as we did not view them.

Room Tip: We had a first floor sea view room at the front of the hotel, with a balcony, and it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G7J10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#6 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites Kaikoura
Quality Suites Kaikoura
#1 of 20 in Kaikoura
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
1.1 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0.6 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Boutique Hotel

Address: 146 Esplanade, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand (Formerly Maxtons On The Shore)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range: £103 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kaikoura Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming historic hotel on the Esplanade of Kaikoura's peninsula has amazing and uninterrupted views of the sea, mountains and dramatic sun rises. Your entire experience of the hotel is sure to delight from stunning contemporary interior design to the deliciously famous breakfast spread and what many say, NZ's best barista coffee. The hotel boasts the planet's most far-flung champagne bar, Phenix. Delightful spot to linger over bubbles and the spectacular view or for pre-dinner drinks. Open daily til sunset. Room rate include breakfast, wifi, parking and a memory you'll not soon forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaikoura Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing