We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and relaxed hostel with dolphin views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dolphin Lodge Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice and relaxed hostel with dolphin views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

I got to see a lot of dolphins from my room - jumping in the air and apparently having fun. It is very close to the i-site and town centre but being 2 minutes up a hill, it is in a very calm area. Nice garden and hot tub. An old cat lady lives there too - treat her well! -, which adds to the relaxed atmosphere. Everything was clean and the "receptionists" were really nice. I didn't need to stay after check-out but thought it a bit odd that it is explicitly mentioned that you cannot stay or use anything in the hostel after check-out - understandable, as it isn't that big and couldn't accomodate those who left and those who are coming in, but I hope they make exceptions when necessary.

Room Tip: I really liked my double room with garden and sea views (you have to get close to the window to see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    53
    16
    1
    4
See reviews for
1
40
48
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

Stayed for one night in January. Manager was friendly and welcoming. Clean private double room at great price and location. Shared areas cosy and clean and a bit if a garden. About 5 min or less walk to town down footpath. Quite a small backpackers, so feel friendly and relaxing.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mishaseymour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

Only stayed for a night button seemed nice and cosy and quite social. It had a hot tub but we arrived too late to use it and had to leave after check out in the morning.

Kitchen looked good, I think there was free te any coffee, location was good, close to town but on a hill so you got great views. And we had lovely views out of our Window.

I think it was around 60$ for an en suite double.

Nice enough place

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berrydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arran
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

big backpackers with plenty space pool was a bonus, spa pool and bbq central big sofas and kitchen, showers and toilet a bit manky but not too bad. one problem.... slamming doors the whole place shakes when anyone goes into the kitchen which was up til one am and again at six am. they need to fix that then the place will be perfect.

Room Tip: make sure your room is well away from the downstairs kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKnzArran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

This backpackers is unlike any other backpackers I've stayed in. It is very clean, homely, everything you need and well priced.

Upon walking in in Winter, the fire will be roaring & easy going music playing. Friendly staff always, a spacious and clean kitchen, where you will find everything you need to cook a beautiful meal, clean pots and pans, knives, gas hobs, everything in good order and working, herbs and spices even!

Curl up on the couch by the fire, or relax and unwind in the spa overlooking the snow capped mountains. All this within a short stroll of amazing beaches, dolphin swimming, seals and more!!

Room Tip: The ensuite rooms are great for those looking for an alternative to motels, but not wanting to share...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sirri14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
237 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

This is a lovely hostel! Just perfect for someone looking to spend a few days in this beautiful area. Very peaceful. It has a "home" feel to it...when you have been travelling a while, you really appreciate that. Good and well-stocked kitchen with a cosy lounge, The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Great views over the bay and an easy walk into town. Friendly and helpful owners. Kaikoura is an ideal spot to chill out for a few days and this is a nice place to do it!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanyaM212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
96 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Really nice place right near the main town area in Kaikoura - 2 min walk. Had a double with ensuite for 67 NZD.
Friendly couple owners who live upstairs. Obviously popular with lots of travellers staying there at the same time.
Nice kitchen and lounge, feels like a proper home. Cat included.
Bonus - hot tub in the garden which was great.
Room was clean, comfortable, heater provided. Electricity on 30min time out. Next to laundry room but not a problem as not used after 9pm.
Would stay again. No issues.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DocMarkL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers
#14 of 36 in Kaikoura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Lodge Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Lodge Backpackers

Property: Dolphin Lodge Backpackers
Address: 15 Deal Street, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Lodge Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Dolphin Lodge Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing