We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dolphin Lodge Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
376 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay again”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We are suprised by other reviews. We didn't find the hostel cosy. The room felt damp and we had to have the little radiator on in the room for the day to air the place. The bathroom was ensuite but we had to go though another adjoining room to get to it. That adjoining room was next to a laundry room and the washing started there very early.

We didn't think the kitchen was as well equiped as other hostels we had stayed in. Agree with other reviews on the bins. My girlfriend had personal waste s wanted to dispose off and there was no bin to put it in. it is not something to be recycled so she had to put it in her pocket and bring it with her to dispose in a bin in the town. Yes the hostel is close to town but up a really steep hill with lots of steps which was not easy getting the suitcases up.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank simongb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    53
    16
    1
    4
See reviews for
1
40
48
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DT
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Clean place with Spa in the garden.Close to town and well equipped.Spacious veranda overlooking the ocean.good spot to explore what Kaikoura has to offer.Had an ensuite double which was really big for a backpackers room.Big plus for me-bookexchange ;)

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wuschel-NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nsw, australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Great small hostel up on the hill. Very great views of kaikora but still a pretty close walk to town! Internet is pretty expensive here but there are a couple of restaurants in town that offer free unlimited wifi if you have a meal.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Great stay at Dolphin Lodge, very friendly staff and clean, comfortable accommodation. Would definitely stay here again. Good location and have a cool jacuzzi overlooking the sea. Short easy walk in to the town center.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank RodneyKickingK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and felt very welcome. Feels like being home as the guys running this place live in the first floor. It's very clean, easy to find and in a well set location. No problem to find a parking spot as they offer about 4 spots. The highlight is definately the yacuzzi overlooking the well kept garden with view towards the surounding mountains. Rooms and bathrooms are average but clean. Common ares are well equiped including tv room.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mmansch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipoh
Level Contributor
102 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We're on a road trip and short stay at this place. We stayed in family room. Kitchen is lousy with some really old stuffs, but their dining area is good with a comfy sofa. The cat is cute sometimes annoying when it locks itself outside the door during a chill winter night :) At the night you can hear the sea waves, in the morning you're greet with a morning sunshine!

Too bad the hot tub wasn't functioning during our visit.

Also, the bathroom was really cold during the winter. Perhaps put a heater inside would be good? The room's heater, I don't know how to adjust it, but it seems like will auto shut off after some times.
None the less, friendly and helpful receptionist :) Enjoy our stay at here!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bell N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Our room was fine. Clean enough but many flies. We stayed in the private double with ensuite. No toiletries but there are towels. It is close to the kitchen so we found it loud in the evening and morning. We found it weird that there are no garbage/rubbish bins in the whole place. I'm a big fan of recycling but I think there is still need for a garbage bin for certain items. Otherwise the recycling is just getting contaminated. They have a weird policy that you can't stay on premises after check out which I think is a bit strict. If there is a problem it should be dealt with. Don't punish everyone by creating unfair policies. The kitchen is clean and the fireplace is a nice touch. Staff is friendly and the outdoor area is nice. Wifi prices are way too much! It is $5 for 50mb. There should be an option for unlimited for that price. Good location but at the top of a hill. walk up the pedestrian path near the isite. We wouldn't stay here again. The owner should rethink some of the policies.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat9Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers
#16 of 36 in Kaikoura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Lodge Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Lodge Backpackers

Property: Dolphin Lodge Backpackers
Address: 15 Deal Street, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Lodge Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Dolphin Lodge Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing