We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value and very comfortable indeed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ardara Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic value and very comfortable indeed.”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Don't believe any bad reveiws you might have read about this delightful B & B - anyone who has actually stayed at Ardara Lodge (clearly these bad reviews were written by people who have been somewhere else) will know how brilliant it is, and how spotlessly clean and comfortable. The clean and modern refurbishment is recent and is plain for anyone to see. There are very comfortable brand new beds, decent quality bed linen, lovely thick soft quilts, plenty of extra bedding if needed, electric blankets provided, brand new fast kettles, a large silent frig, decent sized fluffy towels, large and spacious shower room. Everything was faultless.

Although to my mind Ardara Lodge is more of a motel really than a hotel, the incredibly reasonable price includes a continental breakfast.

We could not possibly have asked for more, and we have stayed in lesser places for a higher price.

I cannot recommend Ardara Lodge too highly.

Room Tip: We had two rooms, a twin and a double, which would have been perfect for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Standpipe102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    11
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
6
25
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wessington, S.D. USA
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We stayed with Winnie and had a leasurely time. She was a comfortable hostess. She tried to be helpful as we needed to wash clothes and took all morning. Breakfast was fine. Cottage was comfortable. Price was average. Location was handy. Winnie's advice was good and her account of the earthquake was very interesting.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Stayed in Cabin at Adara Lodge over 10 years ago when it was quite new. Looks like nothing has changed, including the bed linen. For the price, we were surprised how tired looking the place was. Threw out some of the food provided as it looked past it's best. Boiled water in a pot as the inside of the kettle was covered in scale that was flaking off.
Current owners should either lower their price or give the place a makeover. Buy a new kettle at the Warehouse for under $20.00. Won't be back.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roy_Vasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Douglas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2009

We chose to stay at the cottage at Ardara Lodge. It was rather expensive but ooked and sounded charmingon the Ardara website. The "farm" is a paddock with one beast. Our first intro: the outdoor spa - the floor was covered in leaves and dirt which the owner kicked aside as he escorted us to the spa. The cottage: dead lowers lying on the outdoor table; grubby windows and doors (cobwebs & grime); dead flies on staircase; grubby vegie tray in bottom of fridge; open and used sauce bottles.... We arrived at 4.30pm to find one of the owners had just gone to get groceries for the cottage. We expected the accommodation to be fully prepared and catered for. Owners are nice but the cleanliness leaves much to be desired. This accommodation was the low point of our 5 week tour through NZ.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Whaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.5 mi away
Donegal House
Donegal House
#26 of 32 in Kaikoura
110 reviews
4.1 mi away
Manakau Lodge
Manakau Lodge
#1 of 32 in Kaikoura
159 reviews
3.2 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
2.2 mi away
Koura Bay Lodge
Koura Bay Lodge
#14 of 36 in Kaikoura
38 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardara Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardara Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ardara Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Address: 233 Schoolhouse Road, Kaikoura, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardara Lodge Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ardara Lodge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing