We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Water's edge indeed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waters Edge Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaikoura
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waters Edge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #28 of 34 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Water's edge indeed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

Our room was in fact half a house, though we had complete privacy with our own entrances, own porch with deck, and even the whole driveway. Very comfy and a view to die for, waking up to mountain n sea right outside our bedroom window. In the evenings if weather permits, sit on the deck n enjoy a glass of wine, and just enjoy the view. The beach is right next to the deck, and we had a lovely time just walking along the beach. The only improvement I can suggest if any, is a slightly bigger breakfast table.

Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank wayfarer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2010

Marilyn & Keith were very friendly and accomodating. The view was wonderful. Our "room" included a large sitting area as well as the kitchen area. Deck availability. No on-site internet. Breakfast table was quite tiny. The large space was great for re-packing. Excellent recommendation for a restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJ-HJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

We will never stay anywhere else when in Kaikoura - this is truly the best! It has the rare combination of total privacy as well as the warmth and friendliness of a b& b.
All aspects of this amazing accommodation are excellent, and we were tempted not to ever leave! One of Kaikoura's best restaurants is 2 minutes walk down the road.
Keith and Marilyn were so welcoming and immediately made us feel at home. They were there if we needed them, yet we had amazing privacy.
Location is stunning - right on the waters edge with those spectacular views of the sea and snow covered mountains that is a world speciality.
We had a truly wonderful long weekend there, and we are looking forward to returning again and again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank squirrel79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2010

Appropriate value for the $. While the view is good, it's not tremendous. The only reason I say this is if you're in the guest suite, your straight out view is 1/2 over an abandoned fish shack and 1/2 a beautiful view to the water. If you angle your chair just right in the sitting room, you've got a great 100% view of the water. Very friendly and accommodating hosts. A 15 - 20 minute walk from town.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chicagotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, Dorset, England
Level Contributor
341 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2010

We stayed with Keith and Marilyn for two nights and wished we could stay longer. The location of their B & B is just superb. Right on the seafront with just a gravel road separating you and the sea. The views of the mountains dropping into the sea are stunning. The accomodation is spotlessly clean, with a nice bathroom and a modern bedroom. The bed was a little soft for us but we do like a firm mattress. Otherwise it was perfect, very nice to be self contained and Marilyn and Keith do absolutely everything to make your stay good. It is also very quiet and peaceful. There are great walks from the house, Kaikoura is brilliant, and we would highly recommend Watersedge. Also ask for directions to the roadside fish barbecue cafe - it is superb!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coolkoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
165 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2010

We stayed for 3 nights with Keith & Marilyn by the sea in Kaikoura. We had an independent unit attached to their home, with separate bedroom, lounge and shower room. It wasn't overlooked or conspicuous, so we could lay in bed or sit in the lounge looking at the view over the sea (and watching the seagulls)!

Marilyn provided a very nice, simple, Continental breakfast in our room each evening, which we could eat at our own convenience in the morning. We felt under no pressure to rush up and we much appreciated the chance to do our own thing.

Keith & Marilyn were very helpful in giving us advice about the area, restaurants, etc. Kailoura isn't the cheapest place in New Zealand, but we thought the Thai Restaurant was really good value.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2010

I recently stayed at WatersEdge and was overwhelmed with the location, I have never relaxed so much in any of the other many places I have travelled to. The waterfront venue with its sweeping views of mountains and sea are beyond words, and hosts Marilyn & Ketih went out of their way to ensure our restful stay, not many hosts go the extra mile but they made us feel very welcomed, having our own private lounge we could chill out if we wanted to or have a chat and a drink with them on their deck. Many many thanks K & M :)

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trippinroundtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.6 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#14 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Point Bed and Breakfast
The Point Bed and Breakfast
#16 of 34 in Kaikoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pier Hotel
The Pier Hotel
#23 of 34 in Kaikoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Inn the Bay Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Admiral Court Motel
Admiral Court Motel
#8 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waters Edge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Edge Bed and Breakfast

Property: Waters Edge Bed and Breakfast
Address: 27 Avoca Street, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing