We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Do!!”

Maori Tours Kaikoura
Ranked #12 of 28 Tours in Kaikoura
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A real insight into Maori people and our way of life. Join our family for a half day tour that combines stories of our ancestors, laughter and learning with weaving and a bushwalk to discover how we use plants. Throughout the journey you'll be involved and you can ask questions about the things you really want to know about. Awarded Best Cultural Experience in NZ 4 times following traveller reviews - Let us show you why.
Bowen, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
“Must Do!!”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This tour was definately one of the highlights of our holiday, and we brought home not only a momento of our tour, but also new knowledge and insights, lovely memories and an urge to learn more. The friendship, hospitality and warmth extended to us by Maurice, Ana and Heather is a credit to them all.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ree W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaikkiwi, Owner at Maori Tours Kaikoura, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Kia ora Ree - thanks for the lovely review. We enjoyed meeting you and your whanau as well and hope to visit Bowen one day after learning about it from you guys - sounds like your backyard is as pretty as ours. Take care and remember to Stand in the Heart of the Day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Experience”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

I honestly think that this is an experience everyone who visits should participate in - even New Zealanders who want to feel more intouch with our country's history and culture. Maurice and Heather are beautiful people, and it is an honour that they open their hearts and home to share this with people.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaikkiwi, Owner at Maori Tours Kaikoura, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Kia ora and thanks for the lovely review. It's always rewarding to share our special place with visitors from overseas and fellow New Zealanders.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A TRULY GENUINE NEW ZEALAND EXPERIENCE.”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Our tour with Maori Tours Kaikoura was one of the most amazing journeys we have ever had the pleasure of being a part of. From the moment we were met, we were made to feel like we were genuinely welcome by Maurice and his family. It was a privilege to be informed about the history, culture and people of this most beautiful country. A truly wonderful experience that we will keep with us forever. A perfect balance of everything anyone could ask for in a tour. Fantastic and memorable.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nessper31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaikkiwi, Owner at Maori Tours Kaikoura, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Thanks for the lovely words and for taking the time to review. We hope our paths cross again sometime - who knows we may bang into Matthew at a Warriors/Cowboys game!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An authentic encounter”
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Spending an afternoon with Maurice on his Maori Tour in Kaikoura was one of my best experiences in New Zealand. It´s not just authentic information about Maori culture, history, tradition, it´s more about being involved in it from the very beginning of the tour. Starting at an historical place called "Pa", doing the "hongi" = the greeting ritual which means: coming together in peace, introducing yourself by your mountain, river, canoe and name, learning a song, weaving a flower made of flax, listening to stories and understanding what is unique about the land and the culture. A short bushwalk tells you about the flora and fauna, the importance of the balance in nature, how to use leaves and roots for teas and healing treatments. Standing in front of trees that are 600 years old and singing the song in the trees´honour/ Maurice plays the guitar, being welcomed at his home for having a homemade snack, practising the hongi, singing the song " Stand in the Heart of the Day" - indeed, I did! and that´s why this tour is in my memory -unforgettable, because of the friendly, authentic encounter with a Maori who shares his knowledge in love and humility. Thanks a million, Monika from Vienna

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mokoru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaikkiwi, Owner at Maori Tours Kaikoura, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
Kia ora Monika - what a lovely review you've posted. It was a great tour for sure - we also received nice feedback from one of the Australian couples and Evelyn and Ross who were visiting from the North Island said they really enjoyed meeting people visiting from afar. It's so nice to read about the things you remember and we hope they will remain part of your New Zealand memories. Thanks for reviewing and look us up if ever you visit Kaikoura again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful learning experience”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

This tour is a wonderful way of learning about Maori people and culture. Our Maori guide Morris and his niece Koha provided a great view into Maori culture both past and present. Your tour takes you to various spots in the Kaikoura area with either Morris or Koha explaining the numerous traditions of their tribe. We were each given Maori names, learned a song as we went and had tea and snacks at Morris's home meeting some of his extended family. This tour truly allows you to get a better understanding of the Maori people. I am so glad to have taken this tour and shared in this experience. It certainly gave me a better sense of what New Zealand is all about.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank AngiePA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaikkiwi, Owner at Maori Tours Kaikoura, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Thanks for the great feedback Angie and I'll make sure Koha sees it as well - take care and safe travels for the rest of your stay....Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maori Tours Kaikoura also viewed

Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Maori Tours Kaikoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing