We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ka Pai”

Maori Tours Kaikoura
Ranked #13 of 27 Tours in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A real insight into Maori people and our way of life. Join our family for a half day tour that combines stories of our ancestors, laughter and learning with weaving and a bushwalk to discover how we use plants. Throughout the journey you'll be involved and you can ask questions about the things you really want to know about. Awarded Best Cultural Experience in NZ 4 times following traveller reviews - Let us show you why.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Ka Pai”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Loved this tour! I have been holidaying in KK for over 40 years and I thought I knew the place inside and out. Far from it. This tour opened my eyes to KK in a wonderful new way. I learned so much of the history, sampled Kawa Kawa tea, introduced myself in Maori, weaved a flower out of Harakeke, sang a lovely Waiata and went on a gorgeous bush walk.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank heykuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaikkiwi, Owner at Maori Tours Kaikoura, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
It was a good day with good people. Thanks heaps for coming Mihinui kia koe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great introduction to a rich culture”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Disappointed last trip to New Zealand that we didn't get a lot of exposure to the Maori culture and we were really pleased to join Morris' small tour on afternoon a few weeks back.

They are great for the whole family and the engagement is positive, friendly and very welcoming.

Price was good value and entertaining, thanks to Morris and his family! A highlight of our two weeks.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart_Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaikkiwi, Owner at Maori Tours Kaikoura, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Pleased you enjoyed your time with us and thanks for posting such a great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hospitality”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Fantastic tour explains what it is to be a maori and life of maori both in the past and today. Maurice is an excellent host and whole of his family greets you warmly. Tour to local maori places is well organized and you also have a possibility to become a firend of a maori family. Cant enough thank you for this possibility. Rima, sister of Iwa from Finland

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank A-LL1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaikkiwi, Owner at Maori Tours Kaikoura, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
It was our pleasure to meet you this time - don't forget to call in when you next visit NZ or we'll be in touch if we ever get to Finland - thanks for writing this lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm and personalised”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Kaikoura Maori Tour seemed quite expensive, but turned out to be a really good decision. We piled into our guide, Maurice’s mini-bus and picked up the only other two guests, a couple from England. With Maurice was his 10 year old grandson who sang a traditional song as we approached the remains of the historic pa. The site was dedicated by Maurice’s grandfather to the people of Kaikoura, Maori and paheka. The tour also included a forest walk, weaving with flax, learning a song written by a family member for the tours, and morning tea at Maurice and Heather’s home. We drank tea made from the Kowa Kowa plant, which we saw growing on the forest walk, along with ancient totara and rimu trees. We tasted the tips of the supplejack vine, a flavour very similar to green beans. We really felt culturally inducted and it helped us with the rest of our stay to know proctocols such as hongi (pressing noses ).

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zela54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaikkiwi, Owner at Maori Tours Kaikoura, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Appreciate the review Zela - you sure took loads in and we really appreciate you sharing on Tripadvisor - say hi to Glenn and take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highlight of our Honeymoon to New Zealand”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This tour was incredible. We traveled to Kaikora for the whales, but loved it for this tour. If you are looking for an authentic, educational, personal Maori experience, this tour is for you. Maurice and his family are incredibly welcoming and so knowledgeable. There are no gimmicks or costumes - just a true experience in the Maori culture both as it is today, and as it once was. It literally brings tears to my eyes when I think how wonderful the tour and Maurice and his family was. It is a very, very special experience that should not be missed.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaikkiwi, Owner at Maori Tours Kaikoura, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
This is a lovely review Beth - thanks so much for taking the time to write it. Wishing you both much joy in your journey of marriage and remember to stand in the heart of the day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maori Tours Kaikoura also viewed

Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Maori Tours Kaikoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing