We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always awesome!”
Review of Black Rabbit Pizza

Black Rabbit Pizza
Ranked #13 of 58 Restaurants in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$18
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Black Rabbit Pizza Co is a small, family owned artisan pizza restaurant located in Kaikoura, NZ. We have recently completed renovations and are now fully licensed, serving some of NZ's finest craft beer and wines.
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
100 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Always awesome!”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We travel to New Zealand every couple of years and always try to get to Kaikoura. One of the main reasons for that is The Black Rabbit. The quality has remained absolutely top notch over the years and it is always a pleasure to get the best pizza ever! The pasta is also totally delicious so it's always a struggle to decide what to get, my advice is to stay in town a while and try everything, you won't be disappointed. My hubby has been crying over the fact that we can't get anything like this in the UK and is now completely addicted to the combination of blue cheese and pear. Now counting down the days until our next visit!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fluffybundle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lfolk, Owner at Black Rabbit Pizza, responded to this review, 27 September 2014
Thank you!
We are so thrilled that we're such a big part of your travel!
Look forward to seeing you again next time :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    29
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not to bad, cute place”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Pizzas ok could do with a lot more on them, would need probably four to fill our family of four. Staff smoking outside not a good look, nice little place tho and friendly staff

Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lfolk, Owner at Black Rabbit Pizza, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hi Amy,

I'm disappointed to see your review of our pizzas. We are an artisan pizza shop, not dominoes, and we take great care in each pizza we make and feel as though they have the perfect amount of toppings. I do remember your family and know that you asked for us to remove certain toppings off your pizza, obviously there will be less on them if you ask for a topping to be removed.

We do keep the size of the pizzas right at the till for everyone to see and it is really up to you to know how much food your family needs to fill them up, not ours.

I fully agree with you about the smoking, our staff are not meant to smoke in front of the shop and I do apologise for that.

I hope you will reconsider us and maybe order a garlic bread next time to fill that extra gap.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pizza was awesome”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I will definitely back to try more flavours. Loved the 'gone hunting', with yummy flavours of wild pork, venison, plum sauce, and fusion of other flavours. We will be back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sunsoakerNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lfolk, Owner at Black Rabbit Pizza, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
The 'Gone Hunting' is definitely a favourite of many of our customers, I'm pleased you enjoyed it! We look forward to seeing you next time! Thanks for the review :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Your salmon pizza was delicious thank you
I look forward to trying another one next time we are back in Kaikoura

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lfolk, Owner at Black Rabbit Pizza, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
HI Liz,
I'm glad you enjoyed the Orange Fish pizza, it's one of my favourite as well!
Thanks so much for the review, look forward to tantalising your taste buds next time you visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unique tastes”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Fantastic thin base and a truly interesting set of topping choices. Quality take away pizza experience. Enough said. !

Helpful?
Thank Leefluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lfolk, Owner at Black Rabbit Pizza, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
We are definitely proud of our tasty pizza base, glad you second that!
Thanks for the review :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Rabbit Pizza also viewed

 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Black Rabbit Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing