We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely country B & B.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Awatea Country Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely country B & B.”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

My Dad,, dog & I stayed at Awatea for 2 great nights. I only wish we could have stayed longer. Alison is really helpful and a great host (and good cook!) who has a good knowledge of Kaikoura and all the wonderful things it has to offer. I would definately stay here again when I get the chance. Thanks for the great time Alison.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    7
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
26
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My husband & I and my sister stayed here as part of our New zealand touring holiday. Alison was a wonderful host and made us feel really at home. The rooms were delightful with patio doors to the garden area. The views were spectacular - over the mountains and the garden area was peaceful and tranquil. Alison gives her guests the freedom to come and go as they please, making full use of the kitchen and lunge areas.
Awatea is a real home from home in very high standard accommodation. We loved it and wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

We stayed at Awatea as part of our round the world trip which included the rugby world cup. We had a great welcome from Alison and she gave us plenty of information about the best places to visit in Kaikoura. The accommodation is of a high quality and has wonderful views of the snowcapped mountains and the ocean. We loved all the animals too. The breakfasts were gorgeous. We spent some great evenings with Alison, watching the rugby world cup on TV, sharing wine and single malt whiskey with her (her favourite tipple)! We can definitely recommend Awatea and will return if we get the chance.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

My husband and I spent a very comfortable night at Awatea on our way through Kaikoura a few weeks back. Wish we could have stayed longer. Alison was very welcoming and a great host. The rooms are spacious and furnished to a high standard and very clean and comfortable. Awatea also offers accommodation for easy wheel chair access with a well planned room layout.
Location is very peaceful with beautiful views of the mountains and a charming selection of farm animals in the adjacent field.
We spent a wonderful couple of hours chatting with Alison on the afternoon of our arrival and felt very much as if we were visiting with a friend rather than staying in a B&B.
The breakfast was lovely and plentiful and we wanted for nothing.
We would highly reccommend Awatea to any traveller and will definitely book with Alison again if we make it back to NZ again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talisker62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Myself, partner and young baby recently stayed at Awatea. Travelers looking for a B&B style accommodation with a very homely feel should seriously consider Awatea. The accommodation is of high quality, clean and fantastically located with views of both the ocean and mountain back-drop. Alison, the owner was an absolute gem. She was incredibly accommodating without being intrusive. We stayed in higher end accommodation throughout our holiday in NZ, and this was without a doubt the highlight.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kylieanne_richards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Ever walked into a place and felt welcome right from the start ? Alison is just such a host, nothing was too much trouble. We had just come from the earthquake in Christchurch, she helped us get in touch with our relatives ( who were fine ) then opened a bottle of wine to celebrate ! Spacious comfortable rooms, delicious breakfast, run by a lovely lady who knows what customer service is all about ! Well done.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yamaha64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2011

My husband & I had the pleasure of staying at Alison's fabulous abode recently, and would go back in a heartbeat.

We did a driving trip around the north of the South Island for 10 nights & found nothing but wonderful hospitality at every port, but Awatea was absolutely the standout. Alison gives your stay the "human touch", and is such a wonderful example of great Kiwi hospitality. The rooms were immaculate, the bed was incredibly comfortable, the towels were plush, and the host was a delight. Nothing we asked of Alison was too much, she helped us with suggestions of where to eat, allowed us access to her internet, and even offered to allow us to bring our lobster back from the famous "Nin's Bin" and eat it in her patio AFTER we had checked out....where else would you get such an offer of amazing hospitality??!!

We both slept like babies, the nearby highway had no impact. When you sit in the back patio looking up at the stunning scenery, you scarcely notice it is there.

As for the breakfast....I do not eat breakfast, but my husband was still raving about it the next day....apparently the mushrooms are a must have. We didn't question having to pay the full rate despite my lack of breakfast, why would we? When you choose to stay in a B&B, you understand that breakfast is included in the cost. If you choose not to eat it, that is your loss.

So I'm not sure what the previous reviewer's problems was, but some people just live to complain! If you want a really uplifting experience, stay at Awatea Country B&B.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargHart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
4.6 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
1.7 mi away
Koura Bay Lodge
Koura Bay Lodge
#13 of 36 in Kaikoura
41 reviews
2.0 mi away
Manakau Lodge
Manakau Lodge
#1 of 32 in Kaikoura
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
4.3 mi away
Wacky Stays
Wacky Stays
#13 of 32 in Kaikoura
54 reviews
3.8 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awatea Country Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awatea Country Bed & Breakfast

Property: Awatea Country Bed & Breakfast
Address: 29 Skevingtons Road, Kaikoura 7371, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Awatea Country Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Awatea Country Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing