We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wants to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Awatea Country Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wants to go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for my birthday trip with my hubby and two dogs for a couple of nights.

Very nice and quiet location. Spotlessly clean.
Breakfast was so good. View was fantastic, you cann see snowed mountain one side and ocean the other.

Alison let our dogs stay in a bedroom with us, which was really good. Otherwise, we would've been worried. Walnut, Alison's dog, loved to play with our dogs. One of my dogs can be a bit upset with terriers but Walnut was very friendly with him.

I can't wait to go back there again. Also, my hubby as he caught a giant eel and big 9 kawais by surfcasting in Kaikoura.



  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mooooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    7
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
26
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chirstchurch
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

A group of us stayed with Alison on a recent long weekend. The weekend was made so much better by being able to bring our dogs. Alison was so welcoming to us and our fur kids, we felt totally at home there. And in addition, the rooms were a great size with french doors to outside, a BBQ and the views! The only downside was the huge breakfasts - very hard to motivate yourself with a full tummy. This will be our first choice of accomodation the next time we are staying in Kaikoura.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this lovely b @ b we had 2 double rooms, the rooms are lovely with a great view, breakfast was 10/10 best breakfast we had so far, we would definitely stay here again, we had electric blankets that was a treat, we were still close to the shops just 5 min drive but the country feeling was great.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holaengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

I found this place not only lovely to stay at (view, rural setting) but really welcoming. Alison was really lovely and she was so sweet to my dog (able to sleep in my room with me) which made me happy and relaxed. I absolutely recomend this to any travellers but especially animal lovers (a variety here you can visit), it's not often you are honestly and enthusiastically welcomed when travelling with your four-legged best friend. The breakfast was fit for royalty (yum!) and Alison was great company to chat with. Overall, the perfect combination of feeling relaxed (that we kiwis love) but also pampered with your own ensuite etc. All positive from me!

Room Tip: I only looked at and took the single room - roomy room with TV, two single beds with ensuite. This r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannielle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

I stayed a week here and plan to go back some time..The setting is out in the country and in the morning I went out on my deck and watched the horses running in the field. In one direction I could see the snowcapped mountains and in the other, the ocean. It was a short walk down to the beach and a short drive into town. There is a very large lounge area for guests, which opens onto a patio area with comfortable chairs and views. The rooms are spiffy and pleasant with attention to detail.

Alison is a wonderful hostess, cooks a fantastic breakfast. I think I gained a couple of kilos just from eating it. She was a very helpful arranging tours and giving me some tips about Kaikoura . I was there with my dog,a Leonberger, who also gives it high marks . Very relaxing and welcoming. I recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaraFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

My Dad,, dog & I stayed at Awatea for 2 great nights. I only wish we could have stayed longer. Alison is really helpful and a great host (and good cook!) who has a good knowledge of Kaikoura and all the wonderful things it has to offer. I would definately stay here again when I get the chance. Thanks for the great time Alison.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

My husband & I and my sister stayed here as part of our New zealand touring holiday. Alison was a wonderful host and made us feel really at home. The rooms were delightful with patio doors to the garden area. The views were spectacular - over the mountains and the garden area was peaceful and tranquil. Alison gives her guests the freedom to come and go as they please, making full use of the kitchen and lunge areas.
Awatea is a real home from home in very high standard accommodation. We loved it and wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
4.6 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
4.8 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Factory
The Factory
#2 of 32 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Koura Bay Lodge
Koura Bay Lodge
#13 of 36 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hapuku Lodge
Hapuku Lodge
#1 of 36 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
2.0 mi away
Manakau Lodge
Manakau Lodge
#1 of 32 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awatea Country Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awatea Country Bed & Breakfast

Property: Awatea Country Bed & Breakfast
Address: 29 Skevingtons Road, Kaikoura 7371, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Awatea Country Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Awatea Country Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing