We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy with our choice in Kaikoura”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage Court Motor Lodge
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My parents, five year old daughter, and myself stayed for one night recently and were very pleased! We received a friendly welcome and were happy with the comfortable, tidy bedrooms as well as a larger living room area than a lot of places that we stayed on our trip. The kitchen area was semi-separated and also had everything we needed for storage and cooking. Bathroom also tidy and quite sizeable. Free wifi was great for general surfing and photo upload but I was not able to upload any video (that was true in most places we stayed, however). There is a small playground (mainly swings) which my daughter enjoyed. Only downside was that we arrived late and couldn't do laundry until the next AM (it's attached to the rooms and so they ask no laundry after 8). Price was reasonable, right around what we paid in most places in NZ.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelMoose03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
There are newer reviews for Heritage Court Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

What a wonderful motel this is. Very helpful in all ways and very very clean with all one needs. We were 2 couples and had a 2 bedroom unit which suited us all. It was a tad out of town but with a car it was good to be out of the business area. Very happy hostess with t

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a one bed studio. Great value for money as it has excellent facilities, including washing up liquid, salt/pepper, toiletries and we got a complimentary breakfast as we stayed for 2 nights.

The owners were so helpful. Definitely recommend for a short stopover in Kaikoura.

Only down side was the distance from the main part of town. It took about 30 mins to walk in the evening and when we got to town at around 9pm most places were closed.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank IceZebra99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed for a night on the way up to Nelson, and were really happy with our choice. When we arrived, we realised that we'd erroneously chosen a studio instead of a 1 bedroom apartment (travelling with a baby makes staying in a studio a bit trickier). They had a 2 bedroom apartment available so we took it. It was great to use the 2nd bedroom for our suitcases and other things, leaving room in the main bedroom for the cot and the living room free for us to spread out. There is everything you need - hot plate, fridge, tea/coffee/plunger. Sky TV and free wifi. There is a laundry that can be used for a small fee per load ($4). On our way back to Christchurch, we decided to stay overnight again as we were so pleased the first time. I can highly recommend it - the owners are lovely as well, very happy to help with requests, etc. Kaikoura town is gorgeous as well - and seeing seals up the coast is such a treat! Very special place :) There is a playground on site for bigger kids (Jack is only 10 months old so a wee bit small for a swing).

Room Tip: A 2 bedroom apartment is great for a couple with a baby as there is more room to spread out and not...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peteandtrisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Location was perfect for us as we were going to a wedding north of town. Friendly staff and nice clean rooms. Studio unit was good size for our portacot and looks like it would be a good place to stay with kids admire grassy area in the middle. Would stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manda265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Away from the town centre but near enough for all facilities with supermarkets and restaurants to hand- clean and with all facilities to hand with hosts more than willing to help- this base would suit any travelling on the go

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rufus99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The unit was well presented and equipped and suitably comfortable for our needs. Our only gripe was the proximity to the road (State Highway 1) and railway line. It is also not as easy to get to the beach as suggested and is also a very long walk from town. We knew of its position in advance as it is made this clear on their website, but we failed to appreciate how many heavy lorries (and a few trains) would pass by during the night. If you're a good sleeper, then this is a good place to stay, but if you are a light sleeper like us, then you won't get much sleep at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room furthest from the road.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Trevor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
2.0 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
2.5 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#13 of 20 in Kaikoura
114 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
1.0 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
1.6 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Court Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Court Motor Lodge

Address: 205 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand (Formerly Colonial Court Motel)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range: £60 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heritage Court Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our units are on the ground floor and set in very sunny, spacious surroundings with spectacular mountain views. We are only minutes from Whale Watching, Dolphin and Seal Swimming, a great Surf Casting beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Court Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing