We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highlight of our holiday”

Kaikoura Marine Tours
Ranked #17 of 27 Tours in Kaikoura
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kaikoura Marine Tours provides small personal Eco Tours (max 8 people) that are fun, informative and educational. The Eco Tour focus is on Kaikoura’s marine ecosystem and specifically seals, seabirds, and fish. The tour includes seal and albatross viewing as well as a 45 minute ‘fish for your dinner’. This is a fantastic tour for families and the environmentally aware traveller.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highlight of our holiday”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We travelled to Kaikoura specifically to see the marine life and soon found out that the larger operators would not take all of our family (we have two toddlers). Thankfully though Simon was more than happy to take us. In the end it was just us and Simon on the boat so we were able to have a trip that tailored us. Put simply we had a fantastic trip, saw lots of albatrosses, mollyhawks, petrels (inclding a rare white morph Southern Giant), shags (including a King Shag well outside its normal restricted range), NZ fur seals and plenty of dolphins all around the boat. It was voted the highlight of the trip, and our boys keep asking to see the photos and video we took. Simon was a great skipper and guide. Definitely recommend this.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Greatest Experience”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Wonderful experience. The tour brought us right out to sea where we. Got a number of amazing sightings of whales breaching. Fantastic opportunities to take photos. Also saw dolphins and seals. The beaches around Kaikoura are home to numerous basking seals. The beaches are unspoiled and beautiful wild stony features. Wonderful seafood to be had also. Accommodation very inexpensive.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BredaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Brilliant swimmimg with dolphins”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We travelled round South Island and lNorth Island.and this was a highlight of our trip.The visit was well organised with not too many on the boat. The guide was superb as were all the staff assisting. It was such an experience to swim with these intelligent, inquisitive creatures. The were obviously intrigued by us and left when they were bored. There were hundreds of dolphins and they were not hassled in any way. It was truly memorable.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank HilaryW971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bled, Slovenia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth the money!”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I did whale watching in Kaikoura w my parents and as you can add the numbers we paid a lot of money for all three of us but it was really worth it!If you're not in California or the Mexican coast there's no better place in the world to see whales in their natural enviroment.Allthough the wheather was horrible with huge waves(all tour after us were cancelled),I was sea sick-yes I needed the bag :),got hit in the head with boat doors seeing the whale just a few meters from me was amazing!I got all teary and was just amazed with the moment,whales are such a magnificent creatures and I really recommedn everyone to have the experience+the tour guides really know what they're talking about.It was great!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank SaraCroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gimo, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Whales”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Whales, seal colony, dolphines, albatross... Wonderful day! The sea was not so calm but we made it. I love to come back one day.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank lieko_1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kaikoura Marine Tours also viewed

Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Kaikoura Marine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing